Why Having The Proper Business Structure Is The Key To Success

Jamie Michael Hemmings
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readOct 11, 2018
M.L. Billion, Co-founder of Billion Operating System

I had the pleasure of interviewing M.L. Billion, a master trader/market analyst and co-founder of the multibillion-dollar trading software, Billion Operating System. After decades of capital acquisitions and philanthropy, business magnate M.L. Billion is in pursuit of revolutionizing this era of knowledge and education. M.L. recognizes the great value in teaching the average person how to forget their broken knowledge and insecurities, expand their mind, open their pallets and take their business and life to the next level. He has hosted influencer & business networking events for diverse audiences worldwide with some of the most reputable entrepreneurs abroad, as well as in the tech world.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

My backstory is quite lengthy and probably needs to be discussed in an interview… However to summarize, I came from humble beginnings, born in the wrong parts of Miami, Liberty Square (Miami) Liberty Square (colloquially referred to as the Pork & Beans). My parents were not together — my mother was a school registrar and my father was a US Marshall — and both had their unique views on raising me and my siblings. However, both were equally strict. As I matured, I found myself, as many other black males in that same situation, in an environment of running with the wrong crowd, managing to do the wrong things, in order to ultimately get into trouble. But greater than that, at least for me internally, was the thought process of how is this all sustainable? How many times can I make the wrong decisions successfully? And what emerged was my being of self-awareness. I found that I had the ability to think as a logically sound person, and I built my foundation of success, if you will, on that principal.

Once I had that thought process, I found that things started to become a lot easier, and I was open to the possibility of change — especially for myself. And if I could change myself, then I could evoke change in those around me for a positive nature. I have always seen the best in those around me, even if they don’t see it themselves.

Soon thereafter, I was introduced to my mentor, a man that, single-handedly, changed my whole being, sound, mind and body. Talk about an awakening. This man was no bigger than the actor, Joe Pesci, and he proceeded to beat the true knowledge of how this, so called, “world, life and business” actually work. He said things that moved me — very unexpectedly and some may consider it harassment in today’s society — to be better than the knowledge that I was spoon fed as an adolescent and young adult. Once you are truly wake up, the money, success and all else that you may desire become the result.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

I was speaking at a Tech Conference, and a question from the audience was posed, “how do you feel and a successful black man in the technology sector?” I was floored, and my response was certainly not expected by the audience… I answered, “ you mean to tell me that I’m black? Hold the phone…” I was acted as if I was shocked to hear that statement, and I proceeded to pull my cell phone out of my pocket. I told the audience to hold on a minute, and I dialed out to my mother. When she answered, I told her “mom, I think that I have been lied to this whole time… I’m at a speaking event and this guy just told me that I’m black and I had NO clue. I have been lied to this whole time. You mean to tell me that I am black. I need to sit down…” The audience lost it, laughing hysterically for several minutes. I proceeded to say that “I had been bamboozled… This whole time I thought I was white.” Needless to say, we had many more great questions that followed.

M.L. Billion, Co-founder of Billion Operating System

What do you think makes your company stand out?

Right now, I have an automated trading software that has the full capability of changing anyone’s financial outcome. It was the one thing that I sought out from the moment I began my journey. The issues with people, and employees, if you would, are no longer an issue with this one-of-a-kind money generating tool. Why? Because it doesn’t eat, sleep, drink, etc. Where else can you find an employee that happens to be that efficient, as well as obedient, in order to work to generate money out of thin air?! It becomes, once you fully over stand its potential to enrich your life, the simple fact that it takes a few months to be phenomenal at analyzing any market, or all markets, simultaneously. One person, simply, could not do this alone; it would be impossible, period.

Essentially, we have scoped a wealth academy around the software’s potential. These individuals, if they stay the course of learning, will amass wealth and learn how to maintain it. There are not many tools out there that have this same potential. Please note, I built this for myself, with the full thought process of only utilizing it for myself. It was built with my brain and with all of the tools necessary to have an advantage in any given market; and it is all fully automated.

Are you working on any new or exciting projects now?

We are always in the lab working on new projects. Currently, we acquire more businesses both domestically, as well as internationally. We started down the path, several years ago of buying up cash-flow businesses and holding them. Also, at this time, we consistently improve on the existing businesses, business efficiencies, the software, etc. We love the process of it all.

What advice would you give to other CEOs or founders to help their employees to thrive?

Help your employees fail quickly. In order to ascertain what all of the issues are that one has with the operation, or their job setting, put the employees in to a position to fail. Once they fail, nurture the employee to become an individual that naturally seeks out all flaws in the position itself — thus making the company stronger because you fortified the employee to be good at losing so that they may be phenomenal at making the right decision. Most employee’s/people’s issue is that they hate to be wrong — thus having the result of overlooking small problems, allowing them to develop into becoming large problems. When you teach your employees that is okay to be wrong, that gives them the freedom to explore new ways of being right. This will foster creativity in the workplace.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are?

Again, mentor Mr. Silverstein. That man laid the groundwork for me to be the man that I am today. Without him, I believe that I would have been a success to some degree; but I truly don’t think that I would be the truly successful man that I am today without his guidance. If not for him, this academy, being able to teach markets, market analyzation and changing individual’s financial outcomes would not exist.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I am a philanthropist, period. On one level, I was homeless, and I went without food, so I actively give back in those areas. In Haiti, I assist countless families in which I provide housing, clothing and food. I am also working on a project to clean up an area in downtown Los Angeles known as Skid Row. We are working to provide housing and jobs to people living their currently. No one should have to suffer if there are resources around for every man, woman and child, and that is a motivation of mine.

M.L. Billion, Co-founder of Billion Operating System

Can you share the top five lessons that you have learned from your experience as a “Black Man in Tech.”?

Lesson one, in most cases, people will never see you coming. This is a huge advantage; so take advantage of the fact that black men in tech is kind of an abnormality.

Lesson two, structure your business properly; there loads of grants and funding opportunity’s for “minority entities.” I was able to utilize minority small business loans, as well as few grants along the way.

Lesson three, people of other nationalities are more likely to help you because they see you as the underdog. Though it maybe the furthest thing from the truth, it turns out to be very helpful, at least in my experiences.

Lesson four, being a black allows you to be a chameleon — you’re black when you need to be, and man when you need to be, and brilliant when you need to be. I have been them all to be the very best version of myself.

Finally, stop treating yourself as the minority. Though the system maybe geared to that thought process, think of yourself as Mr. Everything. This will allow you turn everything to your advantage. Being Black does not make you a victim. Simply stated, you’re not a victim because you’re black. As a matter of fact it’s quite the opposite — being black makes you a conqueror. #venusandserena #tigerwoods

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”?

“When you stop running away from failure, you will start running into success!”

Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this :-)

Magic Johnson, largely because he represents an individual that has conquered every adversity that has come his way. He became an all-star on the court as well as the business arena.

Jamie Michael Hemmings President & Co-Founder of Best Tyme. He is running a series highlighting Black Men In Tech.

--

--

Jamie Michael Hemmings
Authority Magazine

Co-Founder Stretchy Hair Care I Author I Speaker I Advocate For Diversity In Tech