Why Listening Is The Key To Success In Business

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readOct 21, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Peter Barsoom, Founder & CEO of 1906. Founded in Colorado in 2016, 1906 offers an innovative line of edibles. All 1906 products combine great taste, superior ingredients, and rapid-delivery formulations to provide a range of experiences, bringing the benefits of cannabis and plant medicine to health-conscious adults.1906 currently offers five unique experiences that promote sleep (Midnight), energy (Go), arousal (High Love), relaxation (Pause) and a happy mood (Bliss), all in a safe and predictable formulation using single-strain organic cannabis.

What is your “backstory”?

I worked in finance for years before giving it all up to become a cannabis entrepreneur in Colorado. I held a variety of senior management positions at American Express, Merrill Lynch, Morgan Stanley and Intercontinental Exchange. I have a BA from Colgate and a graduate degree from Princeton. My experience working in finance, another highly regulated industry, made jumping into the world of cannabis less daunting. I moved to Colorado with the dream of founding a premium edibles brand, created for high-functioning, health-conscious adults like me. I spent years in research and development for our first product releases, which made for really interesting workdays.

--

--

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine

CEO & Co-Founder at Stretchy Hair Care I Author I Speaker I Eshe Consulting I Advocate For Diversity In Beauty