Scott Patterson of ‘Gilmore Girls’: “Just plunge in because you’re going to get beat up anyway”

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readSep 28, 2018

--

Don’t wait for the perfect moment. Just plunge in because you’re going to get beat up anyway. Perfection is the enemy of profit. The market will let you know what you are doing right or wrong in very short order. Get your ducks in a row, yes, but don’t nitpick. Just dive in.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Scott Patterson, President/CEO of “Scotty P’s Big Mug Coffee”. Scott is most widely known for portraying the grumpy, but lovable diner owner “Luke Danes” for 7 seasons on the show “Gilmore Girls”. Scott recently reprised his role of Luke in the wildly successful 4-episode reboot of the Gilmore series on Netflix. “

Can you tell us about your backstory and how you have transitioned into your current business?

I have been planning a coffee business for a long time. When I was growing up my mother and I sat and drank cup after cup and talked about life. These are very warm memories, for sure. My generation grew up wanting to hurry into adulthood so drinking coffee at 12 years old was not unheard of. When my mom passed in 2008 I started thinking…

--

--

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine

CEO & Co-Founder at Stretchy Hair Care I Author I Speaker I Eshe Consulting I Advocate For Diversity In Beauty