Women In Wellness: Gayane Aramyan On The Five Lifestyle Tweaks That Will Help Support People’s Journey Towards Better Wellbeing

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readSep 24, 2023

--

Embrace micro self-care: Life can be hectic, and dedicating hours to self-care might not always be feasible. That’s where micro self-care comes in. Incorporate small activities throughout your day that make you feel good. It could be taking a few minutes to stretch, enjoying a quiet cup of tea, or even listening to a favorite song during a break.

As a part of our series about women in wellness, I had the pleasure of interviewing Gayane Aramyan.

Gayane Aramyan is a Los Angeles-based Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist specializing in perinatal mental health. She helps women and couples navigate significant life transitions, such as pregnancy, postpartum, and parenthood.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to “get to know you” better. Can you share your “backstory” with us?

I am a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist based in Los Angeles, with a specialization in women’s well-being and relationships. I’ve had a passion for this work since I was in high school and couldn’t wait to get started. At the age of 18, I began working as an assistant for a therapist, and over the course of 10 years, I honed my skills under her guidance while pursuing my own education. Over the past few years, I’ve successfully launched my own therapy practice. With the experience of becoming a mother to my son, my focus has narrowed to specialize in perinatal mental health.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career? What were the main lessons or takeaways from that story?

Stories in my work are confidential. However, I can say the most interesting story of my career path is that I worked as an assistant for my mentor who later became my supervisor and then my employer. Even though I have my own practice now, I am a tenant in her office space!

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about a mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I try not to live with many regrets, because all of my mistakes have ultimately led to where I am today. Nonetheless, one thing I do wish is that I had committed more time to developing a reading habit. Given my current busy schedule, which involves managing my practice and raising my son, finding time to read has proven quite challenging. However, reading remains an important activity regardless of the field you’re in. When it comes to therapy, staying updated on current research and mental health trends can be incredibly valuable.

Let’s jump to our main focus. When it comes to health and wellness, how is the work you are doing helping to make a bigger impact in the world?

I believe that when it concerns mothers, health and wellness often take a backseat. Moms invest so much energy into nurturing their babies and giving their best to them that they frequently neglect their own health and well-being. My objective is to alter this pattern for today’s generation of mothers, encouraging them to prioritize self-care. I am consistently helping my own clients learn to fill their own cup first before helping others, because by doing so, they can ultimately be even more present for their children and partners.

Can you share your top five “lifestyle tweaks” that you believe will help support people’s journey towards better wellbeing? Please give an example or story for each.

Learn what fills your cup: The first step is recognizing what truly replenishes your energy and brings you joy. Many times, people aren’t even aware of what can fill their cup. Whether it’s reading a chapter of a book, going for a walk, indulging in a favorite hobby, or simply spending time alone, understanding what fills your cup is an essential lifestyle tweak.

Schedule in joyful moments: Take a proactive approach by looking ahead at your upcoming month. Allocate time in your calendar for activities that bring you joy. It could be a movie night, a coffee date with a friend, or attending a workshop related to your interests. By scheduling these moments, you’re ensuring they don’t get overshadowed by day-to-day tasks.

Embrace micro self-care: Life can be hectic, and dedicating hours to self-care might not always be feasible. That’s where micro self-care comes in. Incorporate small activities throughout your day that make you feel good. It could be taking a few minutes to stretch, enjoying a quiet cup of tea, or even listening to a favorite song during a break.

Overcome roadblocks with professional help: Sometimes, internal or external factors can hinder our ability to prioritize self-care. If you find yourself struggling, consider seeking the guidance of a therapist. A therapist can help you identify and work through the roadblocks that prevent you from focusing on yourself.

Start small with meditation: Meditation doesn’t need to be an extensive practice to be beneficial. Start with just one minute a day. Set a timer, find a quiet space, and focus on your breath. Gradually increase the time by a minute each day. This gradual approach makes meditation more achievable and sustainable, eventually leading to moments of calm and clarity.

Remember, self-care isn’t selfish; it’s an investment in your well-being. By incorporating these strategies into your routine, you’ll be better equipped to navigate the demands of life while also nurturing your own needs.

If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of wellness to the most amount of people, what would that be?

I would love to start a movement that helps new moms properly heal after giving birth. That means having the proper resources and support for the new mom to be able to rest and heal so she can better show up for her newborn.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why?

I had an amazing mentor who did tell me these things so I want to share it with others!

Find your niche: It’s important to pinpoint the specific area within your field that truly resonates with you. (For me, it’s perinatal mental health.) This not only sharpens your expertise but also distinguishes you from a sea of other professionals.

Invest in your business: Recognize that your practice is not just a service; it’s a business. Allocating resources to professional development, quality tools, and a robust online presence pays off in the long run. Such investments can bolster your brand, efficiency, and clientele.

Know who your ideal clientele is: Understanding your target audience helps you tailor your services to their needs. Think about who you really want to work with and ensure that your offerings address their specific challenges.

Network with like-minded clinicians: Collaborating with other professionals not only fosters a sense of community but can also lead to partnerships, referrals, and shared learning experiences. This support network can prove to be a vital resource throughout your career.

Believe in yourself: Self-doubt is a common hurdle, but acknowledging your worth is essential. Have confidence in your abilities and the value you bring to your clients!

Mental health is a big topic at the moment. Why is this cause dearest to you?

The importance of mental health has always been there, but there was always a stigma around it. Seeking help for one’s mental and emotional wellbeing has been an underlying need for ages, but social stigma has shrouded it. Luckily, we’ve seen a shift in the narrative surrounding mental health and have entered a new era of openness. I am proud of everyone who is normalizing and talking about getting help. We all have feelings; we just never had the tools to talk about them or process them properly. Luckily, people are now more willing to share their experiences, which makes it easier for everyone to grapple with their own mental health challenges.

What is the best way for our readers to further follow your work online?

You can find me on my Instagram @therapywithgayane or visit my website www.therapywithgayane.com

Thank you for these fantastic insights! We wish you continued success and good health.

--

--