Women In Wellness: Jasmine Hyder On The Five Lifestyle Tweaks That Will Help Support People’s Journey Towards Better Wellbeing

An Interview With Candice Georgiadis

Candice Georgiadis
Authority Magazine
8 min readDec 27, 2021

--

Limiting my social media time — Mentally it gives me a chance to pour into myself. Physically it gives my eyes hands and brain a break from the strain of being on my phone or computer, and emotionally I get to be easier on myself and not compare or have the Fear of Missing Out (FOMO) when I see things.

As a part of my series about the women in wellness, I had the pleasure of interviewing Jasmine Hyder.

Jasmine Hyder is a former professional sprinter and hurdler, she gave her name international recognition in the 400m hurdles with a spot on Team USA for the 2011 World Outdoor Championships. While Jasmine accomplished a lot on the track, off the track she founded a personal training and sports apparel company. She describes her NFL Husband and Daughter as the ultimate gold medal. Since two businesses weren’t enough, she has now also embarked on her YouTube Channel Journey “Life in the Jas Lane”.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to “get to know you” better. Can you share your “backstory” with us?

I was mainly raised in Tempe, Arizona where I attended the latter part of elementary, junior high, high school and College. I grew up with three of my four siblings. My other sibling is a half- sister that I have kept in contact with over the years, and I have three nieces from her! I graduated from Arizona State University and ran track professionally off and on for about 8 years. I qualified for the world championship in 2011 in the 400meter hurdles for Team USA. In 2013 I met my husband and we got married the same year. We then had our first child in 2014! I became a personal trainer after I decided to retire from track, in order to help women find a workout routine that fits their lifestyle and they can stick to. I am now expecting my second child and preparing to get back into the official launch of my business while learning to be a mommy of two.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career? What were the main lessons or takeaways from that story?

I would say making the world championship team and never signing a deal that supported me financially. Most people who were making teams either World or Olympic were actually signing large contracts with the biggest sports apparel companies ( Nike, Puma, Adidas, etc.). I was new to the game so I had a few roadblocks and things I had to learn about the business side of my career. I learned through that experience that you have to really stay present and use all of your opportunities to your advantage. I know we all have the habit of downplaying our situations but if we actually lived in the moment we would run into so many chances to make that experience so much better. I really felt betrayed and rejected that I did not get a real contract after all I had accomplished. But I failed to realize I still had so much in front of me which were a great agent, a wonderful school that let me train for free, and an awesome coach. We have to appreciate the things we have! Never focus on the things we don’t.

Can you share a story about the biggest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

The biggest mistake I made was giving up in 2013! I try to remind myself it wasn’t a mistake because I met my husband weeks after “I quit”. However, again I discredited myself and my circumstances. I was really mentally exhausted and disappointed that I didn’t make the 2013 world team (the second team I missed after 2011). I learned that sometimes we really need to give ourselves a break. I was so eager to redeem myself that after the 2013 loss I went on an act of vengeance and just kept training. I should have taken a break! We all deserve a break! We need them. They are vital to survival and mental clarity.

Let’s jump to our main focus. When it comes to health and wellness, how is the work you are doing helping to make a bigger impact in the world?

I believe that my work allows women and people, to give themselves a chance. I feel as if I never gave myself a chance. I was always so hard on myself. And for good reason right?? I wanted to be the best athlete in the world. So rightfully I put a lot of pressure on myself. Well, once I was able to take that pressure off of myself and see that I just need to be the best I can be in life, the best version of MYSELF. My work in personal training revealed this knowledge to me and that everyone experiences life differently.

Some people are putting this immense pressure on themselves to look, be, or live a certain way. Thanks to social media, right? But my movement, my work, and my goals are to help women find what works for them. It is primarily focused on making sure you discover yourself and what works for you. We don’t have to follow just one path. Finding your own fit is not just something you focus on in the gym. It’s a lifestyle change it’s finding all the pieces that make your life abundantly happy. What works for me might not work for you. On my platform and when working with me I’ll make sure that you are educated and know the alternatives as well as the science behind the strongest opinions. The fitness community especially online has given me the largest opportunity to reach people who could benefit from my work.

Can you share your top five “lifestyle tweaks” that you believe will help support people’s journey towards better wellbeing? Please give an example or story for each.

1) Limiting my social media time — Mentally it gives me a chance to pour into myself. Physically it gives my eyes hands and brain a break from the strain of being on my phone or computer, and emotionally I get to be easier on myself and not compare or have the Fear of Missing Out (FOMO) when I see things.

2) Using a Planner — Mentally it gives my brain a break from trying to remember everything that I need to accomplish. Physically it allows me to make sure that my time is managed and that means REST! Emotionally I feel really good about myself and I see a list of things that I checked off and have accomplished.

3) Drinking Water — It’s recommended to drink at least 64 ounces of water a day. A majority of people do not. But if you think about it, it’s a really simple requirement we all can improve. And Kudos to the ones that are adamant about their daily water intake. Mental Fog is real and sugar causes it. I know that when I drink water I can think clearly. Physically I feel more energized and my skin is clearer. Emotionally I feel satisfied that I am able to accomplish a small task that is beneficial and free.

4) Breathing and Movement — I am a 15-MINUTE QUEEN! We can accomplish so much in 15 minutes. One thing is increasing our blood circulation or what I like to say is rebooting or shutting down our software. 15 minutes of breathing while meditating, walking, or stretching can help with mental strains. We have one heart that has to pump blood and oxygen all the way to our brains and that requires a little help. Physically we are helping to repair our joints and muscles. Emotionally we are releasing stress and negativity while inviting in all the good and positive endorphins.

5) Practicing Good choices — This is a little different but by learning how to make good choices you learn to stay disciplined and on track with your goals. Example: Mentally you need a break then your friends ask you out but you have fitness class in the morning and a realistic goal of losing 4 lbs in 8 weeks. You are 2 lbs away and going out could set you back, especially because everyone is going to your favorite restaurant. Don’t strip yourself from your mental break, go out, but maybe this time we don’t get your favorite thing on the menu because it’s not the most HEALTHY option and it doesn’t align with your diet at the moment. Instead, try something from their Light and Bright side. Physically you will feel good in the morning about your healthier choice as well as energized and refueled. Emotionally you got to unwind and refill with some of your friends. We learn balance and embrace temptations by accepting them as our little challenges that allow us to stay connected to our goals all through making good choices.

If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of wellness to the most amount of people, what would that be?

MY MOVEMENT — FIND YOUR FIT is already in motion. I am giving people a chance to give themselves a chance. Sometimes we don’t always see opportunity and light in our situations and circumstances. But I am here to shine bright for a community of people who just want to be well. I have the gift to be able to connect with people and try new things that others may not. I am willing to share my stories and experiences openly and honestly so that people can find what works for them. My word is my bond, my experiences are real. I allow honesty and transparency in my community as I believe that we all have a story that needs to be told and shared. Sometimes we have to say “THAT’S NOT FOR ME!” and be okay with it. But I am going to educate my community and let them know the facts and opinions but your actual experience will always hold the most weight when it comes to what works for you.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why?

1) BE easy with yourself

2) Comparison is the thief of joy

3) Give yourself time

4) Make a plan

5) Enjoy the journey

These mottos were given to me throughout my journey. And I collected them along the way because you can use them beyond just the START. But anytime that you start something new or challenge yourself to a new goal. You have to stay focused at all points ESPECIALLY if you have a GOAL!

Sustainability, veganism, mental health and environmental changes are big topics at the moment. Which one of these causes is dearest to you, and why?

Mental health is very dear to my heart, not just because everyone goes through things in life but because especially in the brown and black community this topic is still unfortunaltely a taboo topic. There has been progress and more awareness in that area but there is still much more work to be done. I believe the more people know about the resources they can use when they have mental health issues the more fulfilled lives they will live. There is a mind, body, and soul connection so if one element is out of line all other pieces won’t reach their potential either. We need to erase the stigma around mental health.

What is the best way our readers can follow you online?

On Social Media

Instagram: JasmineHyder_

YouTube: Jasmine Hyder

Facebook: Jasmine Hyder

Thank you for these fantastic insights!

--

--

Candice Georgiadis
Authority Magazine

Candice Georgiadis is an active mother of three as well as a designer, founder, social media expert, and philanthropist.