Women In Wellness: Judy Kane On The Five Lifestyle Tweaks That Will Help Support People’s Journey Towards Better Wellbeing

An Interview With Candice Georgiadis

Candice Georgiadis
Authority Magazine
10 min readJan 19, 2022

--

The only limits to what you can achieve are within you. When I started my business, I believed it takes a long time for a business to grow. And so it did. I’ve had clients see immediate results creating a belief that it was okay for their businesses to grow fast. Your beliefs can empower you or diminish you. Let yourself be all you want to be.

As a part of my series about the women in wellness, I had the pleasure of interviewing Judy Kane.

Judy Kane, a PSYCH-K® facilitator, believes people can identify and release subconscious beliefs that keep them repeating unhealthy, stressful patterns. The shifts her clients experience result in them finally achieving what they’ve longed to — with ease and comfort. Judy also hosts workshops and presents in group sessions, conferences, and on podcasts. Originally from Richmond, Virginia, she lives near Tampa Bay, Florida, usually with a rescued cat or dog (or two) as part of her household. Your4Truths is Judy’s first book.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to “get to know you” better. Can you share your “backstory” with us?

Certainly. Most of my career was spent in Information Technology. I didn’t have much exposure to alternative modalities until 2004. At that time, I witnessed the removal of extreme pain in someone when they were helped by an energy healer. It changed my opinion about what was possible and the connection between mind and body. About five years later I was introduced to the process that I use, PSYCH-K®. I was able to observe an interaction and saw that it was a process I could learn and use. It didn’t require me to interpret or sense anything. It was very straightforward and had tremendous potential for me to be able to create change for me and others. I enrolled in a workshop in 2011 and that took me on the journey I’m on now. I took all the levels of workshops that were offered because it’s fascinating and can make such a difference in all aspects of your life. I didn’t intend to use it for anyone outside of my immediate circle of family and friends, but by 2014 I really wanted to be able to share it with a wider group. I founded Aligned Consciousness and have been able to help many more people since then.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career? What were the main lessons or takeaways from that story?

When I first started networking, I was nervous about my elevator speech. It was hard to explain what I do in thirty seconds, and I didn’t like speaking in front of people. Eventually, that become more comfortable, and I started to enjoy the meetings. One day, someone thought I sounded interesting and asked if I would like to be on her video talk show. The idea scared me, but I said yes because I knew it would be good exposure. I used PSYCH-K® to transform the stress I felt about it, planned what I wanted to say, and felt prepared when I got in the car to go to the show. However, on the ride over, I started feeling a little anxious. Before I went in, I worked with that emotion and was glad I decided to do that — when I got inside there were six cameras aimed at the two chairs. There were going to be A LOT of live feeds for this. The show went well. I actually enjoyed doing it and when I watched a replay, I could see that I did a good job. My takeaway was that sometimes you need to step outside of your comfort zone and try something new, and that there are actions you can take to reduce your stress around them.

Can you share a story about the biggest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

My first year was somewhat of a trial year for me, because I knew I was going to move to a different state. So other than getting some business cards and joining a networking group, I didn’t focus too much on marketing until after I relocated. Then I got serious about building the business and was quickly overwhelmed with the advice I was hearing from multiple sources about all the platforms I should be active on for social media. When I made a list of all the things I thought I should do, it included blogs, weekly newsletters, a website, posting multiple times a week on at least four social media platforms, mastering video editing, and developing a signature presentation. These were all in addition to finding appropriate networking groups and building connections in an area where I knew no one. There was too much to do, and most required learning how to use new tools. I’m comfortable learning new technologies and tools, but when I needed to learn something new to get anything done it kept me from making progress. Finally, I pared the list down and prioritized what was left. Then I was able to move forward and add new tools one at a time. I decided to focus on one platform until that was comfortable, and then added additional activities that resonated with me. Weekly newsletters didn’t feel good to me, but monthly felt okay. So that’s what I did. Each activity I’ve added over the years has felt like it would help people understand how I can help them and has made sense to me personally. What I’ve learned is that different types of marketing work better for different people. You need to put your energy into the ways that feel right for you and your business.

Let’s jump to our main focus. When it comes to health and wellness, how is the work you are doing helping to make a bigger impact in the world?

By helping people rewrite subconscious, self-limiting beliefs I help them reduce the stress in their lives. They are better able to make decisions, based on what they want instead of what they fear. This has impacts in several ways. It can let people be more authentic and therefore make contributions that are unique to them in their business and personal lives. If people are less stressed, they develop fewer physical symptoms of stress and their well-being is enhanced. When people are more relaxed about themselves and their activities, this has a ripple effect on those around them that can spread in multiple directions. It also improves our ability to be compassionate and collaborative and that feels better to us and contributes to the greater good.

Can you share your top five “lifestyle tweaks” that you believe will help support people’s journey towards better wellbeing? Please give an example or story for each.

  1. Breathe. When we are stressed out, we tend to either hold our breath or take shallow breaths. When you breathe deeply, it sends a signal to your brain that it’s okay to calm down and relax.
  2. If there are areas in your life that are not the way you want them to be, take the time to think about whether those are anomalies or represent a pattern. If there’s a pattern, what do you think that means? Many people come to me because they are exhausted and stressed out. When we talk about what’s going on, we sometimes discover that they spend much of their time reacting to other people’s priorities. I see this a lot with mothers. Their own needs always go to the bottom of the list, and often never get addressed. There are a variety of reasons this could be happening, but it’s a pattern related to having or maintaining boundaries. Once they recognize that they deserve to take care of themselves, they can communicate these boundaries to others and create a way to balance out their lives.
  3. For the things you want to be different, get very specific about what you actually do want. Sometimes people come in knowing what they don’t want, but not very clear about what they do want. And sometimes they think they know what they want but they haven’t gone deep enough. For instance, if someone comes in because they want to make more money, I get them to explore why. It isn’t really about the number of digits in their bank account balance, it’s how they think the money will make them feel. Maybe it’s the freedom to do what they want, maybe it’s so they can do something important with it. Everyone has their own reasons they think money will improve their life. But getting clear on the real reason and then imagining how that will look and how it will make them feel is important. It’s hard to get where you want to go if you haven’t defined the destination.
  4. Take a good look at how you treat yourself and address areas that don’t support you. Having love and respect for yourself is a foundation for how others will see and treat you. So take inventory. Is the food you eat nourishing for your body? Do you drink enough water and get enough sleep? Do you move your body on a regular basis? Do you wear clothes that you feel good in and is your home environment clean and pleasing to you? These are all important to your well-being.
  5. Recognize that change is possible — don’t settle for limits that keep you from having your best life. If you discover there are patterns that are not serving you, find a way to change any beliefs that may be causing those. There are many modalities that can help — find one that works for you.

If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of wellness to the most amount of people, what would that be?

I believe the foundation for that would be built on the core beliefs I talk about in my book Your4Truths: How Beliefs Impact Your Life. Humans have basic needs that are not being fully met because of their view of the world. We all deserve to feel safe, worthy, lovable and connected to something bigger than ourselves.

If people felt safe both physically and emotionally, they would make choices based on what they want vs. what they fear. So many people are just reacting to events and trying to avoid what they don’t want. This puts them in chronic stress which is hard on the body and relationships. It also puts their brains into a fight, flight or freeze mode which results in poorer decisions, lower creativity, and diminished results.

If people felt worthy, think of all the contributions they would be making to this world. When they don’t think their ideas are worth sharing or their talents are worth contributing, they stay silent and invisible. We lose so much when people feel marginalized or unheard or not good enough to make something even better.

If people felt lovable, they would first love themselves and take care of their own needs. This would give them the capacity to then be able to respond to the needs of others in a more authentic, supportive, and loving way.

If people understood that they are connected to something larger than themselves, they would recognize their impact on others and on our world. They would understand other people better and be more compassionate and collaborative. They would know that we are interdependent with each other and all the other components in our world, and would start making decisions based on long-term impacts and the greater good.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why?

  1. Only take actions that you believe in. I happen to enjoy networking, but not everyone does. If you do something that you aren’t enjoying, it’s not going to be effective. People can tell when you are being authentic.
  2. Take the time to be clear on your big why. If it’s not clear to you, you won’t be able to communicate it to others.
  3. The only limits to what you can achieve are within you. When I started my business, I believed it takes a long time for a business to grow. And so it did. I’ve had clients see immediate results creating a belief that it was okay for their businesses to grow fast. Your beliefs can empower you or diminish you. Let yourself be all you want to be.
  4. Make time to recognize and celebrate your successes. Most of us spend much more time focused on what we needed to do better than what we did well. We need to celebrate our successes as well. Self-esteem is a basic human need.
  5. Know what your unique contributions are. We each have special strengths and gifts we bring to the table. Knowing what our own are can help us explain our value to others.

Sustainability, veganism, mental health and environmental changes are big topics at the moment. Which one of these causes is dearest to you, and why?

It’s hard to pick just one from those choices. To some extent they each influence the others. I think sustainability is my highest priority because if you start making gains there, it probably has the most direct impact on the other three. It definitely requires attention to how we source our food and how we go about healing our planet. Mental health would certainly be improved if we reduced the fear of environmental disasters, provided everyone access to clean water and sufficient food, and removed our perception that we humans are separate from Nature. In my opinion, sustainability is becoming more and more critical because we are getting very close to a tipping point. Destroying resources that are needed for long-term prosperity, for purposes of short-term gains, has put us all at risk. I see growing acceptance of this, but we need a greater sense of urgency around it and a willingness to commit to change and adjust our lifestyles.

What is the best way our readers can follow you online?

https://www.alignedconsciousness.com/

https://www.facebook.com/alignedconsciousness

https://www.linkedin.com/in/judykanepsychk/

Thank you for these fantastic insights!

--

--

Candice Georgiadis
Authority Magazine

Candice Georgiadis is an active mother of three as well as a designer, founder, social media expert, and philanthropist.