Women In Wellness: Kim McIver Of Sugarlash PRO & Sugarlash Society On Five Lifestyle Tweaks That Will Help Support People’s Journey Towards Better Wellbeing

An Interview With Wanda Malhotra

Wanda Malhotra
Authority Magazine
7 min readJul 1, 2024

--

Managing Stakeholder Relationships: Building and maintaining relationships with stakeholders, including investors, board members, and key partners, is critical for long-term success.

Today, more than ever, wellness is at the forefront of societal discussions. From mental health to physical well-being, women are making significant strides in bringing about change, introducing innovative solutions, and setting new standards. Despite facing unique challenges, they break barriers, inspire communities, and are reshaping the very definition of health and wellness. In this series called women in wellness we are talking to women doctors, nurses, nutritionists, therapists, fitness trainers, researchers, health experts, coaches, and other wellness professionals to share their stories and insights. As a part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Kim McIver.

With an illustrious career spanning over a quarter-century in the dynamic realm of the beauty industry, Kim McIver has emerged as the new CEO at the helm of Sugarlash PRO, and its newly launched consumer focused product line Sugarlash Society. Renowned as a visionary leader, Kim orchestrates the global operations of Sugarlash PRO, an avant-garde lash supplier renowned for its pioneering eyelash products and transformative training programs for lash service providers worldwide.

In this role, Kim ignites and inspires multifaceted teams across marketing, operations and sales, propelling them towards unprecedented heights of excellence. She infuses her leadership with an unwavering dedication to nurturing the next generation of beauty industry trailblazers, while also fostering invaluable connections among business authorities, thereby evolving opportunities into tangible avenues for growth and advancement.

Since initially assuming the mantle of leadership at Sugarlash PRO in 2018 (and rejoining the company as CEO in 2023), Kim has engineered monumental partnerships, notably securing a transformative alliance with Ulta Beauty, the premier national beauty retailer in the United States. Additionally, she has spearheaded the conception and implementation of the Salon and Academy Partner programs, cultivating a vast network of successful collaborations with myriad beauty enterprises and training organizations.

Under Kim’s stewardship, Sugarlash PRO has experienced a paradigm shift, marked notably by the groundbreaking debut of its consumer product line Sugarlash Society in 2023. Currently, Kim stands at the forefront of the brand’s ongoing evolution, meticulously crafting strategies to propel Sugarlash PRO to even greater heights of innovation and influence.

Beyond her professional endeavors, Kim McIver embodies a profound commitment to leveraging business as a catalyst for positive societal change, championing causes aimed at empowering women and fostering enduring social impact. In every facet of her influential role, Kim’s spirit and dedication serve as a beacon of inspiration, embodying the transformative power of visionary and purpose-driven leadership.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to “get to know you” better. Can you share your “backstory” with us?

My career path has taken unexpected turns, sparked by a suggestion during my time in the restaurant industry that led me to explore esthetics — a field I had never imagined for myself. Always a girly-girl, pursuing a career in esthetics felt natural. Initially drawn to the aesthetic aspect of enhancing clients’ confidence and beauty, I soon discovered my knack for building relationships and driving sales. Realizing my potential for broader impact, I actively pursued education in operations and marketing, cultivating a well-rounded skill set.

Educational pursuits came later for me, as I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease at a young age and initially told I would never have children or a career. Despite these challenges, I have built a solid career history and am proud to have raised three grown children.

My greatest satisfaction comes from helping clients feel confident and beautiful while strategically growing businesses. Passion drives my work in this industry — a sentiment hard to articulate but understood by those within it. I approach every task with unwavering dedication and a results-driven mindset, committed to giving my absolute best in all endeavors. It’s a matter of all or nothing for me, and I consistently choose to give it my all.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career? What were the main lessons or takeaways from that story?

I have a long career history with many experiences to draw from. While this isn’t a narrative, I’ve traveled to over 36 cities in my career, mostly within the US. I believe there are numerous takeaways from work-related travel, including the importance of planning ahead, staying organized, honing communication skills while on the road, and prioritizing self-care.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about a mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

As mentioned, I was a late starter, so I was eager to climb the ladder quickly. This made me quick to say yes to anything. During a job interview, I was asked if I could use Excel. I said yes, knowing I had basic skills, so technically, yes. I got the job, but it turned out to be 90% working with Excel spreadsheets, which wasn’t exactly my cup of tea! I promptly called the manager to explain that the job wasn’t a good fit for me. I learned quickly that I needed to clarify questions to ensure I wasn’t diving into deep waters unknowingly.

Let’s jump to our main focus. When it comes to health and wellness, how is the work you are doing helping to make a bigger impact in the world?

I am in a business that focuses heavily on outward beauty. I strongly believe that looking your best translates to feeling your best. Throughout my 38 years with Crohn’s disease, I’ve ended up in the emergency room many times. Nurses and doctors often told me, “You don’t look sick.” I always remember these comments. I am passionate about helping people feel their absolute best, even when they may not feel their best.

Can you share your top five “lifestyle tweaks” that you believe will help support people’s journey towards better wellbeing?

  1. Practice Stress Management: Finding ways to manage stress is crucial for overall well-being. For example, incorporating daily mindfulness or meditation sessions into my morning routine helped me reduce stress levels and improve focus throughout the day. Developing this habit supported my mental and emotional resilience over time
  2. Prioritize Sleep: Getting enough quality sleep is crucial for overall well-being. For example, establishing a consistent bedtime routine helped me improve my sleep quality. I started winding down an hour before bed by dimming lights and avoiding screens, which helped me fall asleep faster and wake up more refreshed.
  3. Practice Gratitude: Incorporating daily gratitude practices can enhance positive emotions and overall happiness. For example, keeping a gratitude journal and writing down three things I’m grateful for each day helped shift my focus towards appreciation and contentment.
  4. Set Boundaries: Establishing boundaries in both personal and professional life can reduce stress and improve overall well-being. For instance, learning to say no to additional work commitments outside of regular hours helped me maintain a healthier work-life balance and reduce burnout.
  5. Stay Hydrated: Drinking enough water throughout the day is essential for hydration and overall health. For instance, carrying a reusable water bottle with me everywhere I go helped me stay hydrated consistently. I noticed improvements in my energy levels and skin hydration after making this a habit.

If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of wellness to the most amount of people, what would that be?

As a feminist, my goal would be to educate people on the true meaning behind the term. Contrary to misconceptions, feminism is not about hating men. It is about striving to create a more just and inclusive society where individuals are liberated from gender-based stereotypes, violence, and obstacles that restrict their full potential.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why?

  1. Emotional Intelligence will outweigh almost everything else; I wish I had prioritized developing these skills earlier to enhance my ability to inspire and motivate others while managing complex situations.
  2. Adapting to Technological Advancements: Leveraging technological advancements and digital transformation is crucial in today’s rapidly evolving business landscape. I wish I had been more proactive in adopting new technologies to enhance efficiency, innovation, and competitiveness. I have done this now but feel like I could have been quicker in adapting.
  3. Balancing Short-term Results with Long-term Vision: I wish I had understood the importance of this balance earlier to avoid short-sighted decisions that could impact the company’s future.
  4. Managing Stakeholder Relationships: Building and maintaining relationships with stakeholders, including investors, board members, and key partners, is critical for long-term success.
  5. It’s not all fun and it’s not all bad, it’s a healthy dose of both…. You will have very good days and very bad days but thankfully most days are in the middle.

Sustainability, veganism, mental health, and environmental changes are big topics at the moment. Which one of these causes is dearest to you, and why?

Mental health: we all need to reduce the stigma surrounding it. I began openly discussing my therapist and our conversations because I believe we all need to embrace our humanity more. Even if we appear strong or are strong, there is always room for personal growth and improvement.

What is the best way for our readers to further follow your work online?

The best way would be my Linkedin https://www.linkedin.com/in/kim-mciver-b757ba15/ or my company website www.sugarlashpro.com

Thank you for these fantastic insights! We wish you continued success and good health.

About the Interviewer: Wanda Malhotra is a wellness entrepreneur, lifestyle journalist, and the CEO of Crunchy Mama Box, a mission-driven platform promoting conscious living. CMB empowers individuals with educational resources and vetted products to help them make informed choices. Passionate about social causes like environmental preservation and animal welfare, Wanda writes about clean beauty, wellness, nutrition, social impact and sustainability, simplifying wellness with curated resources. Join Wanda and the Crunchy Mama Box community in embracing a healthier, more sustainable lifestyle at CrunchyMamaBox.com .

--

--

Wanda Malhotra
Authority Magazine

Wellness Entrepreneur, Lifestyle Journalist, and CEO of Crunchy Mama Box, a mission-driven platform promoting conscious living.