Women Leaders In Cannabis: “Mass production is OK for its convenience, but we need to make sure that the corporate giants don’t become our only source” With Anne M. Davis, Esq

Len Giancola
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readJan 23, 2020

--

Corporate giants are being formed, which is OK as long as we can still have the mom and pop operations that are out there doing the real work. It’s like finding the perfect chocolate chip cookie. I don’t want a world full of Chips Ahoy, I want the specialty bakers with imported Swiss chocolate. I want the specialized strains. Mass production is OK for its convenience, but we need to make sure that the corporate giants don’t become our only source.

In 2008, Anne M. Davis, Esq. decided to pursue marijuana law reform recognizing the medicinal qualities and need for change in the laws at the time. Anne traveled the country from coast to coast learning and researching marijuana law and policy, cultivation methods and technology, and every facet of the industry from California farms to indoor warehouse grows to small boutique cultivator/dispensary shops, before marijuana was even discussed publicly. She became the Chairman of the Board and served as the former Executive Director of NORML New Jersey (National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws); a member of NORML’s Legal Committee; and one of the founding members of the NORML Women’s Alliance. Currently, she serves as counsel to the American Cannabis Nurses Association. She possesses significant knowledge and research experience in the industry and has established relationships with patients, physicians, owners and operators of dispensaries in other states, advocates and organizations in support of the medical marijuana industry including, but not limited to: the New Jersey Cannabis Business Association (NJCBA); New Jersey Cannabis Industry Association (NJCIA); Coalition for Medical Marijuana — New Jersey (CMMNJ); Drug Policy Alliance (DPA); Marijuana Policy Project (MPP); Americans for Safe Access (ASA); Law Enforcement Against Prohibition (LEAP) and local patients groups in New Jersey. Anne herself is a medical marijuana patient diagnosed with MS. She has found that through diet, exercise, and healthy lifestyle and nightly marijuana use, that she has been able to manage MS without pharmaceutical drugs. This has strengthened her belief in the efficacy of marijuana as a viable cost-effective and healthier alternative.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us the “backstory” about what brought you to the cannabis industry?

I am a medical marijuana patient myself, diagnosed with MS in 2013. I have found that through diet, exercise, a healthy lifestyle and nightly marijuana use, I have been able to manage MS without pharmaceutical drugs. While I was approved for Copaxone, a common MS drug intended to reduce future relapses, I was advised that my heart, kidneys and liver had to be monitored regularly — so I opted for a marijuana treatment plan.

Before my diagnosis, I was also a consumer for many years. I rarely took Advil or Tylenol and preferred to use a natural plant remedy to settle my symptoms. It helps me to calm my racing mind at night and saw from early on the positive impact it had on my own life. I joined NORML (National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws) and met some of the most inspirational individuals and thought leaders in the industry. I met people who were risking jail time and every asset they have fighting this fight. I knew I wanted to be involved in the advocacy and fight, which led me to the work I am doing today.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Our company was created 2 years ago and there has been a tremendous amount of work that has had gone into it. We have met patients in the Ocean and Monmouth counties who were traveling over an hour to get medicine. Our mission was born out of a clear and urgent need that these people with disabilities and limited income were experiencing. Speaking to these people and hearing their struggles amidst my own physical struggles ignited a fire and a passion to help the people closer to me and in my own backyard. There are still so many areas that have a limited mindset who are not educated on the benefits of cannabis. We have liquor stores on every corner selling products that are mind-altering, and yet we struggle to find the value of cannabis from a medical level.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Back in 2009 when I really started to work on the advocacy end, I spent a lot of time talking to people and immersing myself in the culture of cannabis. I attended lots of industry events, and one in particular comes to mind. I flew to California to attend a fundraiser that had the attention of a lot of big players and underground cultivators of Cannabis. EVERYTHING at this event was in abundance — from food to drink, from weed to edibles, and I wanted to try it all. Afterall, what better way to learn about the industry then to sample it? They had a tray of chocolate chip cookies with a skull and cross bones label on it. I didn’t think anything of it and took a bite. Upon finishing the cookie, I felt a high at a level of intensity I had never experienced before. WOW with a capital WOW. I needed to leave- I was in no shape to mingle with anyone intelligently. With no cell service and no way home, and the biggest high of my life, I remember going outside to sit down. All of a sudden, a limo appeared and brought me back down to my hotel — and after that, to reality.

The biggest lesson I learned? Heed the warning labels! The potency levels can sometimes be too much to handle!

Do you have a funny story about how someone you knew reacted when they first heard you were getting into the cannabis industry?

I am an attorney in Ocean country. I wasn’t super open about my use and support of Cannabis but because of my passion for advocacy, I eventually felt the need to be. Fellow attorneys and judges were shocked when they first found out. They said things like “What are you doing getting involved in that?” and “You are going to destroy your career.” It was in response to these reactions that I realized there was now a need more than ever to be more vocal and honest about my support of Cannabis. I learned that there are highly professional and successful people in all industries who are using it, but no one is talking about it. We have to stop hiding otherwise we can never make our case heard.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

Hands down, I am grateful to Keith Stroup, the founder of NORML. He founded it in 1970 and had a vision that marijuana would be legalized across the United States in 10 years. While we are still fighting his fight, he began the mobilization of like-minded people who knew prohibition was wrong and that it had to end. A gentleman in kidney failure was denied a kidney for using cannabis for therapeutic purposes. He was taken of the donor list and died. NORML attorneys fought and continue to fight for people like that, and for people like me, and I am proud to be standing alongside of them.

Are you working on any new or exciting projects now? How do you think that will help people?

I am a mother of 2, and I see our children growing up in scary times. They are bombarded with social media access and inappropriate content and losing the life lessons of empathy and accountability. I am putting together a women’s think tank on how to address these issues and bring our kids up in a safer world with stronger values and deeper morals.

Ok. Thank you for all that. Let’s now jump to the main core of our interview. Despite great progress that has been made we still have a lot more work to do to achieve gender parity in this industry. According to this report in Entrepreneur, less than 25 percent of cannabis businesses are run by women. In your opinion or experience, what 3 things can be done by a)individuals b)companies and/or c) society to support greater gender parity moving forward?

I have to say, I strongly question and disagree with this statistic. This is my 12th year of being ingrained in this community and have never seen an industry with more women leaders in my life. It is coming at a time where women are empowered and accomplishing amazing things. They are not afraid; they are stepping up and they are demanding change. I see their actions from all levels — from manufacturing, to cultivating to distribution and more. Just look at the work coming from people like Greta Gaines, Shaleen Title, Mikki Norris, Madeline Martinez, Whoopi Goldberg, I could go on and on. Their voices come from all corners and are loud and powerful and have lots more work to do.

You are a “Cannabis Insider”. If you had to advise someone about 5 non intuitive things one should know to succeed in the cannabis industry, what would you say?

1. How can you be a champion for something you haven’t gotten to know so completely? Learn everything you can and try all the products. You don’t have to like them all, but the more you can speak about the industry, the more impact and credibility you will have in making a change.

2. Be open and honest and stop hiding the fact that you use Cannabis. We are starting to talk about medical use, but we are still afraid to admit that we also use it recreationally.

3. Be courageous enough to be honest

4. Keep the children in mind ALWAYS- What we do, what we say, and how we market the products matters.

5. Never give up. It just simply isn’t a choice!

Can you share 3 things that most excite you about the cannabis industry?

1. There is a part of me that enjoys being a rebel and being revolutionary

2. Watching the progress excites me- every time another obstacle is overcome, and another state comes on board it warms my heart on levels that is indescribable.

3. There are also so many new strains being developed, new stores opening and new products that are coming on the market every day.

Can you share 3 things that most concern you about the industry? If you had the ability to implement 3 ways to reform or improve the industry, what would you suggest?

1. Corporate giants are being formed, which is OK as long as we can still have the mom and pop operations that are out there doing the real work. It’s like finding the perfect chocolate chip cookie. I don’t want a world full of Chips Ahoy, I want the specialty bakers with imported Swiss chocolate. I want the specialized strains. Mass production is OK for its convenience, but we need to make sure that the corporate giants don’t become our only source.

2. Greed greed greed. People are building up companies and making empty promises with a lot of people investing in stocks with no value. Not every cannabis company on the market is going to be successful, and there are a lot of scammers out there. We know that this is on the verge of becoming a billion-dollar industry. The hype is allowing big business to come in and take people’s money with little to no stake or return.

3. Over regulation will lead to a loss of the really high-quality raw cannabis products that are on the market, and will make all of the high specialty strains unavailable. Being able to use varied strains help me personally with my MS symptoms and I would hate to lose those options

What are your thoughts about federal legalization of cannabis? If you could speak to your Senator, what would be your most persuasive argument regarding why they should or should not pursue federal legalization?

Federal legalization MUST happen, it will happen and it will happen because of capitalization.

Money drives everything in the US. The legalization will create revenue, jobs, tax revenue at all levels, and will help to fund the initiatives that aim to help medical patients. The amount of funds and generation of tax dollars would solve their budget crises and solve state and local problems. More than 25,000 scholarly articles have been released about the positive effects of Cannabis. The proof is there and it’s for the taking.

Today, cigarettes are legal, but they are heavily regulated, highly taxed, and they are somewhat socially marginalized. Would you like cannabis to have a similar status to cigarettes or different? Can you explain?

No, it is totally different. It is the evolution and the cultivation of the specialty strains that is helping to make the finest products out there. Let it be. It is a plant and we should be able to have it in its natural and organic state.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Be the change the you wish to see in the world”- Gandhi

I speak it, I live it, and I breathe it. I was meant to be right here to open the doors for people, and I wont stop.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the greatest amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

The most important things in life are love, giving to others, and living with empathy. I am committed to making my think tank effective in re-instilling morals and values into our children. Let’s get them away from social media and the culture of instant gratification. I am all about making a better tomorrow.

Thank you so much for the time you spent with this. We wish you only continued success!

--

--