Women Of The C-Suite: “Fear is a liar; Fear will tell you the craziest things” With Melissa Wong CEO of Retail Zipline

Carly Martinetti
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readNov 3, 2019

--

Fear is a liar: Fear will tell you the craziest things. When I first started, I legitimately feared our company would fail and that I would end up eating cat food. What happened is nothing further from the truth. When you’re in the moment, don’t let feelings of fear lead your actions or choices.

I had the pleasure to interview Melissa Wong. Melissa is the co-founder and CEO of Retail Zipline, the leading communication and execution platform for retailers who believe in the power of the store experience. Melissa is passionate about retail communications, having served as a corporate communications manager at Old Navy for more than 10 years. Melissa studied at Bates College and currently lives in San Francisco.

Thank you so much for joining us Melissa. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

You could say I’m an accidental entrepreneur. I spent my career in communications, first in PR and then in Operational Communications for Old Navy. I was at Old Navy for over ten…

--

--

Carly Martinetti
Authority Magazine

2x pet tech founder, publicist, writer, and dog mom. I love learning about what makes CEOs tick.