Women of the C-Suite: “Perfection is Not Always Attainable or Required,” with Dr. Sara Burdak, Au.D. of Starkey Hearing Technologies

Jason Malki
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readJan 5, 2020

Perfection is Not Always Attainable or Required: You cannot do everything at 100-percent all of the time. You need to prioritize your tasks daily and decide what needs to be done great, what needs to be done well and what simply just needs to get done. Defining parameters around your to-do list is incredibly important.

Dr. Sara Burdak joined Starkey Hearing Technologies as an audiologist on the Hearing Research and Technology team in 1999. Over the last 16 years, Sara Burdak has worked to bring impactful programs to our global customer base. She is responsible for developing and aligning Starkey’s global audiology strategy as it relates to education and training programs, the Department of Veterans Affairs, and customer and industry relations. Sara Burdak earned her bachelor’s degree in audiology and speech sciences from Michigan State University, her master’s degree in audiology from Wayne State University, and her Au.D. from the Arizona School of Health Sciences.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

Most audiologists, like myself, pursued the profession because either they, or someone close to them, has been impacted by a hearing or balance disorder. My story is no different. I suffered from chronic ear infections as a child, which meant several visits to the ENT and Audiology practice. I do have a mild hearing loss in my left ear and have always struggled to hear in noisy situations. I liked the fact that audiology was part of communication sciences and decided to make it my life’s work because of the blend of science, technology and helping people.

It has been an incredibly rewarding path for me. I’ve worked in many different areas including clinical practice, research and development, manufacturing, customer service and education and training. One of my greatest takeaways is to always stay open-minded about your career path because what you learn in school may not be representative of the amazing opportunities out there.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your executive leadership role?

The most interesting, and perhaps most impactful, experience that has happened to me since beginning this role is working relentlessly to redefine a hearing aid into a multipurpose device that people will want to wear. Sadly, only 1 in 4 people who could benefit from wearing a hearing aid actually pursue one. It was time to pave a new path with the first and only hearing aid to have integrated sensors and artificial intelligence. With features like fall detection and alerts, among others, it meant changing the way we train professionals and preparing them to fit this life-changing technology.

This change is transformational to the way Starkey, and the industry, has approached hearing healthcare, and we’ve had to really think differently as the leader in this space.

I’ve traveled the world doing global launch events to teach professionals to embrace the Healthable™ features that go well beyond better hearing to impact overall health and wellness.

At Starkey, our purpose is So The World May Hear. We are always looking for ways to help more people around the globe to hear better and live a better life.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I’ve made plenty of mistakes throughout my career, but most of them weren’t necessarily funny! One time, I didn’t know that I was supposed to introduce the CEO of our company who was speaking after me, and I walked off the stage! We laughed about it, but it was awkward at the same time.

I think that learning from a mistake should be intentional because it’s not always obvious as to what went wrong. Too often, that doesn’t happen, and we miss out on the valuable opportunity to uncover the problem and create better outcomes or processes.

There is an interesting book called The Four Agreements that I like to reference because one of the agreements is “Don’t make assumptions.” It’s really hard not to do that! For example, don’t assume that everyone knew the desired final outcome or had all of the knowledge and tools to do the work correctly. I typically find that people sincerely want to do a good job and feel badly if they make a mistake. Leaders should always look for ways to help ensure success the next time and recognize there may be a better way.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. What is it about the position of executive that most attracted you to it?

I can’t say I ever set out to be an executive. I set out to do something that captured my interest long term, challenged me to evolve and allowed me to do my best work. I want that for everyone on my team. I love being able to learn new things every day and collaborate with people from other disciplines. Our work here is so meaningful, because our technology helps people hear better and live better lives overall.

Being a life-long learner allows me to help Starkey continue to push the boundary of hearing aids, and it aligns with our vision to be better today than yesterday and better tomorrow than today. The direction we are heading in really excites me.

Most of our readers — in fact, most people — think they have a pretty good idea of what an executive does. But in just a few words can you explain what an executive does that is different from the responsibilities of the other leaders?

Strategic thinking is a large part of an executive’s role, and you must have the ability to think further ahead. Executives need to strike the right balance between being mindful of what’s going on in the moment, while continuously planning for growth to achieve long-term success.

What is the one thing that you enjoy most about being an executive?

I really enjoy seeing the hard work of my teams being deployed. There is nothing like it when a plan is executed seamlessly, and they’ve accomplished the goal. It’s no different than the feeling of winning a game! I think it is so important to celebrate some wins and provide recognition. It’s too easy to forge ahead to the next project and miss those opportunities to appreciate your team and recognize them for a job well done.

What are the downsides of being an executive?

You have to manage the good, the bad and everything in between. Where leaders often falter is when times aren’t so good. I appreciate true leadership qualities, like humility and integrity that shine through during those moments. That is what sets great leaders apart from good leaders. The buck stops with you and executives have to take that responsibility with no excuses.

What are the “myths” that you would like to dispel about being an executive. Can you explain what you mean?

There’s a myth that you need to know everything and have all the answers. It’s simply not possible to know everybody’s job, and that can’t be the expectation. A leader should be comfortable saying they don’t know or they don’t know yet and will find the answers. Fortunately, some of my strengths are putting the pieces together and establishing connections. I’m not an expert in finance, and they aren’t experts in hearing and balance disorders. On numerous occasions, I find myself explaining hearing technology to other teams, and, in return, they help me with tasks like budget forecasting or talent management. It’s an ongoing cycle of learning and support. Good leaders hire even better leaders who can help the entire organization fill in any skill gaps required to be successful.

In your opinion, what are the biggest challenges faced by women executives that aren’t typically faced by their male counterparts?

Although progress has been made over the years, women still occupy far fewer leadership roles in many organizations. Data from LeanIn.org’s employment survey of 323 organizations shows that at the entry-level, men and women are equally represented. However, as you move from management roles to Vice President and Senior Vice President roles, the balance begins to shift considerably with women occupying far fewer roles. Times are changing and you can greatly influence the direction. I’m a prime example of what that looks like.

What is the most striking difference between your actual job and how you thought the job would be?

I’ve been really fortunate to have grown into this role over the past 20 years that I’ve been with Starkey. I didn’t need to move to a new company or take on an entirely different role in the organization. It was really more of an incremental change where I increasingly took on additional responsibility. Therefore, I felt prepared and excited for the role and its challenges when I accepted it. I have been able to use what I’ve learned over the years from managing high-performing teams in the past.

Certainly, not everyone is cut out to be an executive. In your opinion, which specific traits increase the likelihood that a person will be a successful executive and what type of person should avoid aspiring to be an executive?

I think having a firm grasp on skills like strategic thinking, goal setting, problem solving and staying focused helps determine whether someone will be successful in an executive role. Providing the overall vision is so critical to a team’s success. I’ve always liked the simple statement that if you start your journey in the wrong direction, you are not going to arrive at your destination.

What advice would you give to other female leaders to help their team to thrive?

I really believe that mutual respect is a key driver of successful teams. I have always viewed my team members as partners. I don’t just report up, I report to and am accountable to them. My team keeps me in check just as much as I keep them in check. If you lose the respect of your team, you’ve lost your team.

There is just no one way or right way to lead. The best approach is to recognize that it’s not about being liked. It’s about being authentic, sincere and transparent as much as you can be. When I left my last organization, the biggest compliment I received from a team member was that they would miss me because I was fair, and I was always an advocate for them.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My father was a hard-working entrepreneur in the hospitality industry. My work ethic, grit and hustle came from him. He really taught me the importance of checking your title at the door, working hard, having some fun and to not take yourself too seriously. When you’re managing hotels and restaurants, there are so many instances when you may have to step into a completely different role so the customer experience isn’t interrupted. Imagine if the hostess is out that night or the chef is sick. My father would jump in wherever he could and expected us to do the same. Because of this experience, I like to ask interview candidates at Starkey to tell me about a time when you’ve been asked to do something that wasn’t your job, and how did you react. Their answers can be very telling, and you will know if they will be a good fit for your organization’s culture.

How have you used your success to make the world a better place?

My team and I have the privilege to help thousands of hearing professionals each year refine their skills so people in need of hearing technology can live happier, healthier lives and be fit with the best technology.

Along with managing our work with the Veterans Administration and spearheading our university outreach programs, I’ve found a variety of meaningful ways to make the world a better place at Starkey.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why? (Please list five things and share a story or example for each.)

-Perfection is Not Always Attainable or Required: You cannot do everything at 100-percent all of the time. You need to prioritize your tasks daily and decide what needs to be done great, what needs to be done well and what simply just needs to get done. Defining parameters around your to-do list is incredibly important.

-Don’t Be Afraid to Make Decisions I tend to be more analytical in nature and want as much data as possible to decide on the plan forward. It is important to analyze the information you have available; however, you do need to be able to make the decision as a leader. Some of that includes drawing on your own experience and intuition to help you think quickly. Recognize that you won’t always make the right choice, but then adapt the plan and move forward.

-Know Your Leadership Style and Preferences: Everyone has different leadership styles. Know the type of leader you are, and continue seeking out opportunities to grow. Intentionally look for ways to adapt to the preferences of others and the needs of the team.

-Feedback is a Gift: Some people love giving and receiving feedback, and others hate it. People have many different perceptions of feedback, and it’s great to create a trusting environment where feedback is constructive and expected. Use every opportunity to absorb and learn when someone takes the time to provide you with this valuable gift.

-The Learning Never Stops: I urge new executives to never lose their curiosity, learn from other executives and spend time outside of your office to learn through experiences. I really appreciate the fact that I am a more well-rounded leader because of it.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greatest number of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

I feel very strongly about educating the public about hearing loss. Many people do not know that hearing loss is the third-most prevalent chronic condition in the world. Additionally, most people don’t know how to prevent hearing loss and fail to take action when experiencing its symptoms. Taking action toward better hearing sooner, rather than later, is the key to success.

Looking for opportunities to change the stigma associated with hearing aids is a passion of mine. People who wear them experience health benefits and quality of life improvements that extend beyond the ear. I’m proud of Daymond John and the work he’s done to help us break the stigma around hearing aids. I was able to fit him with his first set of hearing aids (and did I mention they were red?). Daymond believes in the importance of eliminating the stigma around wearing hearing aids and educating others about hearing loss. What better way to do that than with cool red hearing aids?

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Slow down, we’re in a hurry.” This is a phrase I use often. The details matter, and too often, we experience the pain of what happens when you don’t get something right or done well the first time. While leaders should encourage their teams to move quickly, they also need to provide opportunities to pause and make sure work is done correctly. As a culture of always wanting to be done faster, we can miss details, decrease time for creativity, and potentially have an adverse effect from reduced productivity.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

I have been so fortunate to have met a lot of influential people who have impacted me personally and professionally. One person who comes to mind that I would love to have breakfast with is Sheryl Sandberg. I recommend reading her book Option B. It has a powerful message about facing adversity, building resilience and ultimately finding joy. Things don’t always go your way or as planned. How you react matters.

--

--

Jason Malki
Authority Magazine

Jason Malki is the Founder & CEO of SuperWarm AI + StrtupBoost, a 30K+ member startup ecosystem + agency that helps across fundraising, marketing, and design.