World Record Breaker and Surf Champion, Kai Lenny, Connects Our Lives With The Ocean

Plotaverse | Editor: Nadja Reichardt
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readNov 13, 2018
Kai Lenny for Plotaverse. Photograph and Plotagraph motion art by Troy Christopher Plota

“I’m hoping for the day, when single serve plastic is still in use, but made out of hemp, or algae from the sea. The material would be biodegradable and actually edible for other animals.”

26 year old Kai Lenny raised the bar in the surfing community when he mastered multiple surf techniques, and introduced multi talent as the new standard for surf athletes. Lenny is a big wave- and stand-up paddle surfer, tow-in surfer, wind- and kite surfer. Three weeks before his 20th birthday, young Kai Lenny won the Standup World Series championship, followed by a series of world championship titles in several disciplines. His massive success never slowed down his passionate involvement with surf communities around the world. When he is not seen catching swells along the American and European shores, Lenny supports ocean conservation organization, Oceana, and shares lifestyle advice with fans of all ages.

Thank you so much for joining us, Kai! How did your parents and iconic surf pioneer, Laird Hamilton, influence your career as a multi talented surf athlete?

I would not be where I am today without my parents. They supported me since day one and I have made so many sacrifices, so that I can have fun and live this life. I feel like I am a product of my environment. When you grow up on Maui, how could you not be influenced by the legends that are on this island, riding the waves, winds and inventing new ways of riding them.

How did you break the world record for the Maui-to-Molokai paddle board race?

I’ve been racing across the channel, on all sorts of different crafts, since I was nine years old. This time I decided to do it on a hydrofoil. The goal was simple: To be the fastest, non-motorized or wind powered craft across the channel.

Kai Lenny at Oceana NYC Gala with guest of honor, Morgan Freeman

Congratulations for being part of Oceana! What changes can we make in our everyday routine to help protect the ocean?

Changing habits, like refusing to use a plastic straw at a restaurant, or opting for reusable bags at the grocery store, all these little choices add up to making a big difference. And it is surprising, how quickly you get used to it. I walk around with a hydro flask for my water, and I find that I end up drinking more, because it taste so much better than water from plastic bottles. I’m hoping for the day, when single serve plastic is still in use, but made out of hemp, or algae from the sea. The material would be biodegradable and actually edible for other animals.

What was your most challenging surf experience and how did you overcome it?

My most challenging surf experience, which is ongoing, is putting myself in a position to catch really big waves at places like Jaws, Mavericks, Nazare, or any Big-wave in the world in fact. When you see the towering mountain of water, approaching you at the speed of a freight train, your heart just drops, and the only way you are going to be able to catch one of these monsters, is by matching power with power. I have to dig deep, with timing which must be impeccable, and you have to have the deepest belief, that you can do it. Because if you don’t, you get sent into oblivion.

Kai Lenny shoots across the barrel | Animated in Plotaverse apps with only 1 still photo

Which events put you on the map for being one of the top surf athletes in the world? What was your experience?

I’ve been able to establish my name through winning competitions in multiple sports. But what really excelled me to the top was winning a series of world titles, eight to be precise, and stand up paddling. Winning surf competitions back to back, has pushed my career undoubtedly, but I am also very passionate about involving myself in non competitive projects. What sets my career apart as a professional athlete is combining both, multiple water sports at a high-level, and creating content that people really enjoy. Right now I am competing on the big wave world tour. Winning this world championship would be a personal dream come true, and I believe a lot of people will find it exciting as well!

In your Plotagraphs, you are showing a natural modeling talent! What was it like on your photo shoot with advertising photographer and Plotaverse co-founder Troy Christopher Plota?

Troy is a great guy and has a really good eye behind the lens. It is an extraordinary experience to see different perspectives of yourself from different photographers. In addition, Troy’s style of shooting was a little more out of the fashion world, which is not very common in our surfing world, so his technique made those images very unique!

Kai Lenny for Plotaverse. Photographed and animated by Troy Christopher Plota

What was your reaction when you saw a Plotagraph for the first time?

The first time I saw a Plotagraph, it completely tripped me out, because it was not a photograph, and it was not a video either. It was something in-between, and anyone, who has never seen a Plotagraph before, wouldn’t know that this gray area really existed. It has ability to breathe more life into a static image, especially in my world of waves, allowing you to visualize how powerful they might be in real life.

Why do you think Plotagraphs work so well for capturing epic surf moments?

It just really captures the power of the sea that the surfer is in contact with. Often times, watching surfers ride towering swells from the beach or on video, things happen so quickly, that the viewer has no chance to bask on how critical the moment might be. So this adds another dimension to an already scary situation.

What are your “3 things you wish you knew” when you first started big-wave surfing at Jaws?

It is hard to say, because I feel like the only way to get to where I am today, was having to live through multiple experiences. Believing in myself earlier in my childhood, and starting sooner would have certainly helped my performance. Additionally, gaining a deeper knowledge of any type of equipment I like to use would have pushed my performance as well. Those are main factors that would have a been great to have started out with.

Kai Lenny conquering Jaws, Maui | Motion created with Plotaverse apps

What are your goals and upcoming events to look out for?

I’m competing on the big wave world tour and my goal is to be the champion. This winter season, I have a lot of crazy ideas I want to set into motion, and I have the ocean. I just need to wait for the right conditions, and who knows when that will be.

Where can people follow you on social media?

@kai_lenny, Instagram |@kai.lenny, Facebook |@Kai_Lenny, Twitter

Thank you so much for this inspiring interview!

--

--

Plotaverse | Editor: Nadja Reichardt
Authority Magazine

We Are a Small Group of Artists With a Big Dream. Based in Maui Hawaii, Team Plotaverse is leading the way in the exciting new world of Motion Art.