Smart Graphics for Graphically Challenged Authors (like Me)

I hate Photoshop — never liked it! I use two online graphics service for all my business and personal graphics needs

Kabir (ko-bir)
Mar 10, 2020 · 3 min read

However, I have a few staff members whose job depends on many Adobe products. So indirectly I benefit from Adobe products. So I cannot deny Adobe’s footprint in my professional life. I just simply find their software unusually unfriendly. This is my personal opinion that even people in my company do not share.

But as an online writer, I often need to create custom graphics for presentation or merely a header for a post. In this case, my go-to software includes are:

  • Diagrams.net — for engineering drawing to org charts
  • Canva — for presentation slides to header graphics to business cards to logo creation!

Diagrams.net (used to be Draw.io)

This is an excellent free tool for drawing flow charts, system diagrams to org charts.

Image for post
Image for post
Credit: diagrams.net

Canva

This is my most favorite graphics program of all time. It allows me to create good-enough to great graphics for a presentation to article headers. In recent days, they have added support for video and animation, which means it is even more useful in creating attractive graphics for an article header image. I like Canva for its simplicity.

Using Canva is as simple as using any presentation software such as Google Docs or Keynotes, or dare I say Microsoft Powerpoint.

Here are some header graphics I created for recent posts on Voice.com. Each of them took anywhere from 1–5 minutes at the most.

Image for post
Image for post
Created in 5 minutes on Canva.com

Here is another one:

Image for post
Image for post
Created in 5 minutes on Canva.com

What to try Canva for Free?

You try Canva for free for 14-days via the following link:

https://mediumauthor.com/canva

Note: my company has a new startup called the LandingPage.Pink — a Software as a Service (SaaS) solution that will offer free landing pages for Medium authors very soon. To offset this free service, we decided to partner with a few awesome vendors with great software products to recommend to authors via our production recommendation inside our tool. The above link is part of that effort. You can always go to canva.com directly as well.

If you have any Diagrams.net or Canva questions, please feel free to ask in the comments section below.

Jazz up your next article with a header graphic that looks great and made custom by you with 1–5 minutes of your time. This is way better than just using a random image from Pixabay or Unsplash.

Authors & Peeps

Authors & Peeps is a publication dedicated to author…

Sign up for Authors & Peeps

By Authors & Peeps

Join our growing list of authors and get interviewed here! Take a look.

By signing up, you will create a Medium account if you don’t already have one. Review our Privacy Policy for more information about our privacy practices.

Check your inbox
Medium sent you an email at to complete your subscription.

Kabir (ko-bir)

Written by

Bio: https://mjkabir.com Contact: kabir@mediumauthor.com

Authors & Peeps

Authors & Peeps is a publication dedicated to author interviews, discussions and how-to guides for helping authors getting found and building an audience. Please contact us via editor@mediumauthor.com.

Kabir (ko-bir)

Written by

Bio: https://mjkabir.com Contact: kabir@mediumauthor.com

Authors & Peeps

Authors & Peeps is a publication dedicated to author interviews, discussions and how-to guides for helping authors getting found and building an audience. Please contact us via editor@mediumauthor.com.

Medium is an open platform where 170 million readers come to find insightful and dynamic thinking. Here, expert and undiscovered voices alike dive into the heart of any topic and bring new ideas to the surface. Learn more

Follow the writers, publications, and topics that matter to you, and you’ll see them on your homepage and in your inbox. Explore

If you have a story to tell, knowledge to share, or a perspective to offer — welcome home. It’s easy and free to post your thinking on any topic. Write on Medium

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store