Agile Delivery Lead vs. Scrum Master

Vinod Sharma
Vinod Sharma’s Articles
8 min readMar 17, 2020

--

My views on Capital One implementation of the Agile Delivery Lead. I am not opposed to it, but I do have my concerns.

Photo by You X Ventures on Unsplash

Recently Capital One posted an article on rebranding the Scrum Master role as Agile Delivery Lead. You can read Capital One’s explanation for this change at Rebranding the Scrum Master Role in Tech Orgs, but their reasoning is well stated in this quote

“Amongst a world of many technical transformations, perhaps the Scrum Master role no longer meets the same needs. This is why the next step in the Agile evolution is the Agile Delivery Lead (ADL)” — Sean Miller & Bill Roberts (Capital One)

This idea has sparked discussion within the Agile and Scrum communities, positive as well as negative. The Agile Delivery role promises to make software delivery more effective.

A colleague of mine suggested reading this article. After reading the article, I decided to reach out to Sean Miller, who originally wrote that article, and spoke to him on the phone. I also read other people’s responses to the article and the Scrum Guide. Finally, I consolidated my research and personal opinion in this article. I will be using this research and learning in…

--

--

Vinod Sharma
Vinod Sharma’s Articles

I help tech startup founders with product development, strategic planning, and building high-performing teams. https://vinodsharma.co