Autistic Rage.

Do you have Aspergers or some kind of autistic disorder? Are you finding yourself short tempered and quick to anger? Snapping at loved ones and inanimate objects. Well what it could be is the horrible and ridiculous heat we are having lately. Obviously if you are in a cooler climate and still have some serious aggression then this post may not be for you, but stay with it. In my last post I wrote about how angry I am lately, well I think I have found the main culprit. At the moment in England we are getting some serious heat, I live on the south coast and for me it is that little more unbearable.
Admittedly not all Burgers have this problem it’s really with the heavier sensory ones, I have serious sensory issues more so than others. Temperature is one of the many I have, serious heat and cold can make me angry. I live in the roof of my building and that makes it ever so more intense. Saying that it is still a little better than outside, in the flat the climate can be controlled to an extent. I can’t think of anything worse than sitting on a beach or on a patch of grass and getting hotter and hotter. Just to clarify I am not making an excuse to stop me from going outside. Anyway when my body gets too hot this makes my senses heighten to maximum capacity so it only takes one or two things to push me over the edge. Which for my long suffering partner is a lot of things she does, through no fault of her own.
Normally I can cope with the heat and it hasn’t been as bad as this summer. I think the combination of coping without medication, the crazy heat and as of late a massive bust up with a member of my family could all be adding to this ridiculous sensory soup that has driven me to this point. Like I said though there could be fellow Aspies out there that are finding themselves in the same situation due to the heat and other issues in their lives. Someone the other day told me that during the summer months Aspies have been known to disappear off the face of the earth.
The coping mechanisms I have found and be told about are what I will be using till the Autumn shows up, they are if you want to try any:
- I went to a garden centre and bought a flower mister. I have been misting myself when sitting around the flat and having a fan in my face as much as possible.
- Ice cubes in my drinks (all of my drinks)
- I have a sensory bucket, which is full of sensory toys that I have. I have one near by all the time, as well as my pet snake. He likes being out in this heat so I have him on me. He applies deep pressure as he is a python. Added bonus of being cold blooded and not making me too hot like a cat or a dog.
- As well as keeping this blog I have a private one where I literally drain my brain and get everything out. (It’s the thoughts I have about the NT world that rile me up a lot of the time) writing them down is like a weight off my mind.
- Being awake earlier in the morning, like 5am and then going for a nap at like 10am. By nap I mean a very long siesta. Then getting up in the evening when it is cooler and doing this so I am awake in the cooler hours of the day. Most people can’t do this though.

--

--