Autistic Self-Advocacy Can Happen In The Moments of Everyday Life

You may be advocating for yourself and others without even realising it

Jae L
Autistic Discovery

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I was running late to the airport after a four-day regional escape. It’s not a scenario I’d recommend for an autistic person with Generalised Anxiety Disorder. Needless to say, I was highly stressed about whether I would get on that plane.

Instead of losing my shit as I entered Departures, I decided to come clean, telling airport ground staff: “I’m really anxious about being late and I’m not thinking clearly and it would really help if you could tell me exactly what I need to do”. Or something to that effect.

It worked like a charm.

I didn’t even need to mention I was autistic. It was clear that I was struggling and it could have been for any number of reasons.

When I found myself seated on the plane with minutes to spare, instead of feeling overwhelmed and agitated, I was relieved. I was also proud of myself. I hadn’t lashed out or morphed into my crazy angry lady alter-ego. All that was required was a simple statement coming from a place of honesty and vulnerability.

I may have benefited from country hospitality but I also know that it could have gone the other way. Framing my cry for…

--

--

Jae L
Autistic Discovery

Queer, neurodivergent and in the business of asking questions and stirring things up. Conspire with me. diverge999@gmail.com; https://justinefield.substack.com