Recital to Merlin — Teacher of Heroes

Denis P. Gill
Recitals of the Celtic Gods
2 min readMar 16, 2024
Merlin whispers in the heart of a new hero

O Merlin, timeless guardian of knowledge and craft, who bends time itself in the service of the Gods, I call upon thee. In every age, you are reincarnated to teach and guide new heroes. Your hand has gently guided the valiant and the virtuous, from King Arthur’s noble quest to the defiance of Vercingetorix in the face of empire. You led them to the Grail of Initiation. They entered the sacred waters as ordinary men and women, but emerged as heroes, armored by the eternal.

It was your prophesy, held in the hearts of a downtrodden people for centuries, that a Maid would be born in Orleans who would lead her nation to freedom, that opened the way for Joan to win Martyrdom, Sainthood, and France.

O Merlin, reborn in every age, your spirit endures, a ceaseless mentor to heroes destined to challenge the injustices of their times. Your teachings, a wellspring of inspiration, nourish the seeds of valor and compassion within us.

I beseech you, guide me as you have guided them. Lead me to the Grail of Initiation, that I too may be initiated in the virtues of courage and unwavering love for the oppressed. Never let me sink into blandness and conformity. Never let me be satisfied with petty goals and satisfactions. Never let me be tamed by what others want me to be, but to strive for what I could be.

--

--

Denis P. Gill
Recitals of the Celtic Gods

Technical Ghostwriter and Editor for Engineering, Construction, Science, Finance and Psychology. Seo Content. Speech Writing.