Catolico Cerrado

3 Catholic Nuns Were My First Angels in This Life

Santa Catalina College, Manila

Vic Alcuaz
Ave Maria
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2020

--

Actress/comedian Whoopie Goldberg In Sister Act II
Whoopie Goldberg in Sister Act II Photo by Buena Vista/Everett Collection

I spent my first 4 years of primary schooling in a Dominican institution called Santa Catalina College. Allow me to introduce to you my ‘Charlie’s Angels’.

Nun #1

Mother Matilde was the oldest Spanish nun in the school. She was petite, standing about 4'8" and stocky. I really enjoyed watching her around the campus with a long bamboo stick, running after the noisy, boisterous and naughty boys and girls.

Mother Matilde was the nun-in-charge of school bus #5, my school bus that would pick me up at 6AM and take me home at 4PM. Her routine in the afternoon was to do a headcount then proceed to her front seat. On many occasions she would turn her back, spot me and signal for me to join her in front.

She liked talking to me in Spanish about anything under the sun. I always enjoyed our conversations. She taught me how to speak the language better since she was a pure Spaniard, and I appreciated that.

Mother Matilde never preached to me about God, Jesus or Mary. She never instructed me to pray or be a good boy. She never told me stories about the devil…

--

--

Vic Alcuaz
Ave Maria

Manila based Filipino/Spanish Author, Cafe owner, Hotel Consultant. A Catholic. Cat Lover. Editor of Medium.com/ave-maria