Contributor

Ignacio

How St. Ignatius Inspired Me to Teach

Chrisking Delacruz
Ave Maria

--

Chris King Dela Cruz (the author) with his son, Ignacio Javier Dela Cruz, or Nacho, for short (taken from his Facebook account)

When I decided to answer the call of being a teacher in 2011, I was blessed to be given the opportunity to teach and be formed in a Jesuit school, Xavier School. There, I fell in love with the Ignatian spirituality and Ignatian way of education most notably Cura Personalis, being a man and person for others, finding God in all things and of course, Magis. To date, my experience teaching in Xavier was the most challenging because it really taught me not to settle for less and always think of the welfare of the children entrusted to my care. During that tenure, I also lost our supposed to be first child, Lorie. So inspired by the experience in Xavier, I named my son after two great Jesuits, Ignacio De Loyola and Francisco Javier — Ignacio Javier Dela Cruz. Years later, I would really be a true blooded Jesuit product obtaining my Masteral Degree through the FIRE program of Ateneo de Manila University.

The Church of the Gesu in the Ateneo de Manila University (photo taken from Rappler’s Twitter account)

Thank you St. Ignatius of Loyola for inspiring and still setting ablaze my passion in undertaking my mission as a teacher. Thank you Xavier School for introducing me to Ignacio De Loyola. There will be no Papa King now in the classroom without the trust you gave to me 9 years ago. My greatest regret is that I left but years on, you still inspire me. Still inspired by Ignatius, the fire is still ablaze. Happy Feast Day.

Taken from the Ignatian Solidarity Network

Ave Maria!

--

--