Sunday Gospel

TheThe Only Way is God’s Way

July 5, 2020 Fourteenth Sunday of Ordinary Time

Chrisking Delacruz
Ave Maria

--

Matthew 11:25–30

Photo by Rod Long Unsplash

At that time, Jesus exclaimed:

I give praise to you Father, Lord of heaven and earth for although you have hidden these things from the wise and the learned, you have revealed them to the little ones.

Yes Father, such has been your gracious will. All things have been handed over to me by my Father.

No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal Him.

Come to me all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me for I am meek and humble of heart, and you will find rest for yourselves.

For my yoke is easy and my burden light.

Did it ever happen to you that while you were driving you suddenly got lost? Even in today’s advance technology of a Global Positioning System (GPS) installed on mobile handsets, we still have the tendency to get lost, and in getting lost, we get tired. Getting lost is tiresome. Finding the right way is tiresome because we make an effort to be back on track. But once we find the right way, once we get back on track, we find peace, we are at peace.

That is the message of our Lord in our Gospel for this Sunday. In our life, we tend to get tired because we are lost. We find peace in temporal things, like money and fame. The Gospel tells us to go back to Jesus. Jesus invites us to rest in Him, to surrender all our burdens to him because He is the only way to our true home which is The Father, and there we can truly be at peace for we belong to Him.

The challenge for us now is to be humble before God so that we can discover the way back to Him, He who loved us first, unconditionally. “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.” True peace is achieved if we rest our hearts in God.

Happy Sunday!

Ave Maria!

--

--