Why Should I Take the Lead?

Hilary Jane Grosskopf
Awake Leadership Solutions
10 min readMay 30, 2019

--

Leadership Experience Provides These Six Essential Keys to Personal and Professional Growth

Do you aspire to be a leader but fear you’re not cut out for it? Do you wonder if the effort involved in leading a team is really worth it?

During my early career, I always aspired to be a leader but often thought I didn’t have what it takes to lead others. I saw some benefits of having a leadership position, like more influence and higher salary; however, I also saw leadership as a somewhat thankless role that required a lot of time and effort. As I continued to participate on teams and take on more responsibility, I became more curious about what leadership could offer in terms of greater impact, possibility, and professional growth.

When I finally had the courage to apply for and accept a leadership position in a large company, I found that leading a team was deeply rewarding both personally and professionally. The responsibilities of leadership, like giving clear direction and motivating others, challenged me. The new capabilities I built through leading a team were exactly what I needed to overcome personal obstacles and progress in my career.

Here are six essential capabilities I gained from leadership experience.

1. Greater Awareness of My Unique Set of Skills and…

--

--

Hilary Jane Grosskopf
Awake Leadership Solutions

Systems engineer, leadership strategist, writer, and yogi. Founder of Awake Leadership Solutions. Author of the Awake Leadership and Awake Ethics guidebooks.