5 steps to build your confidence daily

S.Mack
Awaken Labs
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2024

The one thing I do to build confidence and avoid imposter syndrome at work.

#1 I go outside of my comfort zone in unexpected ways.

How does this manifest? …Here are a few key steps.

🧠 Try new things: Last year, I performed in two comedy shows in NYC. Did I want to throw up at first? Yes, but I did it anyway and loved it. That whole week, I went into work with a renewed confidence on all of my calls because I did a HARD thing. Do I want to be a comedian…NO. Can I tell a joke? Yes! Did I meet cool people? Yes!

🧠 Study: I spend a lot of time researching personally and professionally concepts and things that I’m curious about. I love following my curiosity and going deep on topics. What does this mean at work? I can walk into a room more confident because I know what I know what I know.

If I don’t know something, I go research it until I have at least a high level understanding while also staying open to learning something new from all experiences. No imposters here.

🧠 Challenge yourself: It’s scary talking to strangers or people you don’t know but human connection is magical. I challenged myself at the grocery store, auto shop or wherever I am on my errands to strike up a conversation with a person or the people around me. In almost all cases, it’s led to a wonderful connection that was long lasting or just for the moment.

🧠 Make hard choices: In 2023, I did away with resolutions and leaned into words and phrases that would help me grow. In 2023, I said to myself that I would not make fear-based decisions or, in other words, not be led by fear. The opposite of fear is love so I leaned into loving myself and others as best I could. I leaned into identify moments where I was letting fear lead me and made alternative decisions accordingly. This may mean leaving relationships of any kind, jobs, environments, habits that are not helping you improve in a meaningful way — when you make hard choices, you build an incredible amount of courage and confidence. Write down the moments you’ve done this before and lean on this energy when new situations come up.

🧠 Practice: Confidence is an ongoing muscle that needs work. There are things that happen in our lives that might threaten or diminish our confidence so there must be constant action towards building and safeguarding it consistently.

These approaches have led to a high level of self-awareness as well as personal expansion. I love living outside of my comfort zone.

It’s fun here.

—

Sasha Mack, a graduate of Cornell University with a BA and an MBA from the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business, is a multifaceted professional who seamlessly blends business acumen with artistic creativity and personal development coaching. Born and raised in Fairfield, Connecticut, Mack has leveraged her education and experiences to make significant contributions in various fields. Her professional journey includes roles at Bridgewater Associates and Meta, board membership at a non-profit and private school, and involvement with Lawyers for Children. As an accomplished artist, Mack is known for her unique handmade creations, particularly her “Black Sheep Collection,” which explores themes of individuality and non-conformity. Additionally, she works as an authenticity coach, helping others uncover their purpose and passion. Mack’s diverse achievements, from academic excellence to artistic innovation, reflect her commitment to personal growth and positive impact in both business and community spheres.

www.sashamack.com

© Awaken Labs, 2024

--

--