The only constant is not change.

Sasha mack
Awaken Labs
Published in
3 min readJul 11, 2024

I’ve been thinking about this phrase a lot over the last few months…

“The Only Constant in Life Is Change.”- Heraclitus

I used to say this quote all the time. After being on my own healing journey, I’ve come to two truths. These truths stem from the fact that I can no longer believe that the only constant is change because it has left me at the whims of life. I’m in a battle to lower my cortisol, settling my nervous system and decades of my body being in fight or flight. I no longer wanted to jump from change to change to change feeling whiplash.

So, what are other constants that make life feel much more stable? Here’s what I’ve been considering:

Consistency of self

  • People experience growth, development, and various life changes, but my core identity remains intact throughout these transformations. This continuity of self contradicts Heraclitus’ assertion that change is the only constant, as there’s an underlying permanence within individuals.
  • Now I understand that creating peace within myself and being my own constant helps me feel stable through the inevitable changes of life.
  • This concept goes back to the Black Sheep motif in my art. It’s important for each of us to fully expand within our unique gifts, talents and authenticity. Historically, Black sheep were devalued because farmers could not manipulate the black wool, but it’s the people in society who have a high level of awareness, studied themselves and cannot be changed at the core — who are firm in their identity — these people are planted like a tree with deep roots. They inspire us all to live against the grain in fruitful and abundant ways.

God as the ultimate constant

  • Beyond the self, many philosophical traditions assert the existence of a transcendent reality or deity that serves as the ultimate constant. In theological frameworks, God is often described as eternal and unchanging, providing a stable foundation amidst the flux of the world.
  • This has become true for me in so many ways — in relationship with my faith versus religion. In life, I have gone through a few big changes that may have broken many people, but my faith that things would be better on the other side got me through — continues to get me through.
  • To me, the concept of a divine being represents a timeless and immutable presence that contradicts Heraclitus’ assertion about change being the sole constant.

While everything on earth is in a state of perpetual motion, we can remain still internally and at peace in our soul.

A few months ago, I woke up and was going through my morning routine when the below words came to me…

Morning Reflection

The world is a volatile place

The stock market goes up and down

News articles are full of opinions

Trends tell you what to look at and pay attention to

The housing market heats up and cools

Wars come and go

The job market shrinks and expands

These things draw in our attention

so, we’re forced to ride a rollercoaster

But the only constant is you

Focus on you

There you will find peace and consistency

When the world is swirling

Side note: I absolutely love poetry. I have a few that I have saved that I will share in future posts and I’ve started to write my own when the inspiration hits.

I hope you find your foundation, your constant and your peace in a world that feels turbulent. In finding my peace, I’ve been able to unearth within me what I want to contribute to the world and how I want to make it a little less ghetto.

Love,

Sasha Mack

Sasha Mack, a graduate of Cornell University with a BA and an MBA from the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business, is a multifaceted professional who seamlessly blends business acumen with artistic creativity and personal development coaching. Born and raised in Fairfield, Connecticut, Mack has leveraged her education and experiences to make significant contributions in various fields. Her professional journey includes roles at Bridgewater Associates and Meta, board membership at a non-profit and private school, and involvement with Lawyers for Children. As an accomplished artist, Mack is known for her unique handmade creations, particularly her “Black Sheep Collection,” which explores themes of individuality and non-conformity. Additionally, she works as an authenticity coach, helping others uncover their purpose and passion. Mack’s diverse achievements, from academic excellence to artistic innovation, reflect her commitment to personal growth and positive impact in both business and community spheres.

www.sashamack.com

© Awaken Labs, 2024

--

--