Whose Permission Are You Waiting for?

Stop delaying your dream and start taking control of your life.

Degracia Kekana
Awakening the Dream In You
2 min read6 hours ago

--

Photo by Aleksandra Sapozhnikova on Unsplash

Do you have a dream on the inside of you but are struggling to move forward with it because you are waiting for someone to give you permission?

To be given permission is to be given a right or an authorization to go ahead and pursue the dream that is in your heart.

I mean think about it?

Do you really need someone’s permission?

Did those around you have to ask anyone for permission before they pursued their dreams? Or was it their God-given right to fulfil their dreams?

Also, is your dream about you or is it about them?

Why did I struggled to follow my dream at first?

Before I self-published my first book, I struggled with the idea in my head for years before I went ahead with it. And my struggles were based on the following:

  • I didn’t know anything about writing a book therefore where would I start?
  • Would others see me as someone who qualifies to write a book?
  • Do I know enough about a certain subject to even write about it?

All these thoughts kept running through my head day by day, but then there was another thing that also bothered me.

My family and friends

  • How would they respond to my dream?
  • Would they validate my dream or would they think my dream is stupid?

As much as I wanted my dream, I also cared a lot about what they thought about it. But then, what if they didn’t like it, what would I do, I would also think to myself sometimes.

And this was when I came to the conclusion that I would pursue my dream anyway. And you know why?

Because I am the dream carrier.

The one who carries the dream

I am the one who can’t sleep at night thinking about the book that I want to write.

I am the one who has a burning desire to put my thoughts into words so others could be comforted, encouraged and learn from what I have to say.

Luckily for me, I found out that my family supported whatever it is I wanted to do.

But even if they didn’t, I know now that my dream would keep me awake at night until I defied every obstacle that stood in my way just to get it out.

So, what are you going to do with that dream on the inside of you?

Will you continue to wait for permission or will you pursue it?

Love and Blessings,

Degracia

--

--

Degracia Kekana
Awakening the Dream In You

I am a writer dedicated to inspiring others through my words. I write about self-improvement, Christianity and lessons from my life.