AWE Congratulates 2017 Auggie Award Winners at AWE USA 2017

Best-in-Show AR goes to Meta; GlobaCore Takes Best-in-Show VR; Video gaming pioneer Brenda Laurel honored with NEXTANT Award

AWE (Augmented World Expo), the world’s largest and longest running conference and expo dedicated to augmented and virtual reality, today unveiled the winners of the 8th annual Auggie Awards, celebrating the best-of-the best in augmented and virtual reality. Awards were presented in 10 general categories and two best-in-show categories. The most recognized industry AR & VR awards in the world since 2010, AWE’s Auggie Awards contest is dedicated to encouraging and recognizing the exploration of new AR + VR technologies with the potential to transform enterprise, business and daily life.

Follow Augmented World Expo on twitter at @ARealityEvent and #AWE2017.

Taking place June 1 at the Santa Clara Convention Center under the banner “Superpowers to Change the World,” this year’s AWE Auggie Awards ceremony celebrated companies and products deploying a full spectrum of AR & VR technologies designed to drive economic growth and shape the future of computing.

Meta won the Auggie Award Best-in-Show — Augmented Reality category sponsored by Super Ventures for its demo of the new AR operating environment, Meta Workspace, featuring the Air Grab user interaction on Meta 2 smartglasses. Best-in-Show — Virtual Reality sponsored by Intel was awarded to GlobaCore, for its free roam virtual reality experience “The Yolodeck,” which leverages backpack VR and motion capture technology to create an immersive wide-scale VR experience. Participating in the annual Auggie Awards program for the second year in a row, the Virtual World Society’s NEXTANT award presented by Tom Furness and Dr. Jackie Morie was delivered to Brenda Laurel, Ph.D., for her advocation of diversity and inclusion in video games and virtual reality, and representing the society’s spirit of linking “hearts and minds to create a better world.”

Watch the Auggie Award Ceremony from AWE USA 2017

The winners of the 2017 Auggie Awards are:

To view the 2017 Auggie Awards, visit:

For more information about the 2017 Auggie Awards, judges and a complete list of winners and finalists, visit:

About the Judges
Winners of the AWE 2017 Auggie Award were determined by an expert panel of impartial judges, including: Jay Iorio — Director of Innovation, IEEE-SA; Tish Shute — Director AR/VR, Corporate Technology Strategy, Huawei; Juergen Lumera — Director AR Product Management, Bosch; Mark Billinghurst — Professor, UNiversity of South Australia and ISMAR Steering Committee Chair; Jodi Schiller — Founder, New Reality Arts; David Beard — Product Management, Vuforia — ‎PTC; John Haddick — CTO, Osterhout Design Group; Tom Emrich — Co-Producer, AWE s; Mark Sage — Executive Director, AR for Enterprise Alliance (AREA); Brad Weiers — Tech Lead, Unity Technologies; Matt Miesniecks — Partner, Super Ventures; Eric Mantion — Developer Evangelist, Intel Corporation and Jacki Morie — Founder/Chief Scientist, All These Worlds, LLC in combination with public voting. Winners were presented an Auggie Award trophy on June 1, 2017.

For the first time, the AWE 2017 Auggie Awards trophy ceremony also included a special presentation by the World VR Forum of the Imperial Crown trophy to the 2017 World VR Festival award winner After Solitary by Emblematic.

Original Source: PRNewswire