Consent Is Really Sexy

And we need to give men a chance to get it right.

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

--

Photo by Larm Rmah on Unsplash

Consent can feel like a sticky topic. At 36 years old, I can tell you that the full concept of consent wasn't even on my radar until just a few years ago. And when I hear the word consent, I can't help but think of all the talk about safe sex in the late 80s and early 90s.

Sure, I was pretty sheltered about sex as a kid, so I didn't actually know what those commercials and PSAs were talking about. But I did gather that plenty of people felt that condoms were lame and not romantic.

Today, alot of folks look at consent in the same way.

Like sure, it's safer for all parties... but is it really any fun?

Plenty of dudes are saying it's not. And some women have chimed in to complain about consent too.

A young male reader once wrote to me and requested advice regarding undoing some of the sexual lessons from his repressive religious background. That request was easy enough and I dealt with it in this story:

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com