How I Earn Over $350 a Day with a 4yo on My Lap

I write on Medium exclusively from my tablet and phone.

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

--

Photo by Ravi Kumar on Unsplash

My laptop is a bit on the slow side. It's this pretty (as in cute) but cheap HP thing I bought off QVC back in 2012 when I told myself I was going to become a writer and change my whole life.

Okay, so it took a few years for me to actually get started.

Back then, I thought I was going to write a novel, and I don't know--maybe I'll still finish it one day. But ever since I became a single mom in 2014, my creative brain seems to work much differently.

So I've built my writing career upon personal essays right here on Medium--beginning last April.

Prior to going all-in on Medium this past December, I was a writer for a social media management company for nearly 4 years. For the first several months of that gig, I worked from my phone and my laptop.

But I found laptop usage with an infant to be rather cumbersome, and figured I would need to get a tablet instead. Not that I'd ever used one before or anything like that. Still, I was fortunate enough to receive a Samsung Galaxy Tab A as a gift, and I quickly did develop a preference for the tablet over my laptop.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com