I’m 36, Single, and So OVER Looking For a Partner

There are far more important things than couplehood.

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

--

You know how people tell you that love and romance isn't everything? Uh huh. People used to say that to me and I would just smile and nod along. The truth is that I didn't believe them. For the longest time, all I ever wanted was to find my person and quit going through everything alone.

I believed in love, but now am certain I didn't even know what it was. Like most people, I confused real love for attachment, admiration, affection, and infatuation.

A string of various boyfriends, an unconsummated marriage, two severe heartbreaks, and one unplanned daughter went a long way to change my mind about love. Or at least, to change my understanding of love.

These days, falling in love is difficult for me. On the one hand, I know I’m the kind of person who can grow to love many different kinds of people. But on the other hand, I can only fall deep for the kind of person who makes my heart race and my breath catch in my throat.

I fall for connection.

I fall for depth.

I fall for men with a real wanderlust. Men who go after their dreams and love life with abandon. Honestly, I don't think I can fall too hard for anyone who doesn’t…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com