Ghost Drive Build

Building Stew Mac’s most popular kit of 2022

Patrick Martin
Axes Xplained
3 min readDec 31, 2022

--

How it started

How it’s going

Before allowing family members to decorate, provide a *clear brief*

Now, here at Axes Xplained, we have little truck with a lot of mumbo jumbo that is passed around as folk-lore in guitar message boards.

So, the internet started telling me the Klon Centaur was special and oddly hyper expensive, and StewMac make a replica kit.

Reader: I bought one.

Nice packaging
Err. likewise
Finally, the good stuff
check everything
check everything II
check everything III
carefull with this….
check everything VI
check everything V
check everything VI
check everything VII
check everything VIII

I really only had one issue with the build, which was getting the wires onto the 9V connector. I misread the diagram and and had to correct — no damage done.
Other than that, the booklet is perfectly straightforward to follow.

If you want to hear how it sounds: here you go!

Conclusion

I’ve been playing with this for a while, and for the subtle addition of some crunch to a guitar sound, you could do a lot worse than use one of these.

--

--

Patrick Martin
Axes Xplained

Person. blah blah about me ... WAIT CLIMATE CANCER WE CAN BEAT IT PEOPLE ... all opinions my own