Your Psilocybin Mushroom Companion available for preorder

Tyler Hurst
Arizona Yagé Assembly
2 min readNov 27, 2019

Plant-based medicines have been life changing for me. From using cannabis to wean myself off of psych meds in 2016 to using ayahuasca with A.Y.A. in 2017 to return to myself to microdosing with mushrooms later in 2017 to re-enter the workforce, my personal healing journey has revolved heavily around eating psychoactive plants.

While I’ve tried to document my journey via Instagram, personal writing, and word of mouth whenever possible, my recovery didn’t always lend itself to doing so in an eloquent way others could understand. Thankfully, there are others out there able to do that kind of work, and one in particular just wrote a book that could make at least one plant medicine journey a little bit easier.

Your Psilocybin Mushroom Companion, now available for preorder, aggregates stories like mine into a guide to give new and familiar users more insight into what to expect. Written by Michelle Janikan, who covered Canada’s legalization for Herb.co, Your Psilocybin Mushroom Companion feels like a helpful read for anyone looking to gain insight from those who’ve been there before.

I very much wish I’d known about books like this when I started my own prescription meds journey decades ago and definitely could have used it during my somewhat worrisome transition from psych meds to plants — it would have been so nice to have at least some sort of guide instead of using my own mind to experiment on.

Maybe it’s time for someone to write a version for this for ayahuasca…

--

--

Tyler Hurst
Arizona Yagé Assembly

Writer, of sorts. Digs his hair. Feels things quite deeply. Cries sometimes. Into yoga, plant, and psychedelic medicine. Creates content about cannabis.