I let someone down, That’s not OK

Saying ‘No’ more

Ayodeji Afolabi
Ayo’s Journey
2 min readJan 10, 2017

--

A month ago I joined a group to work on a project. I pitched a new idea to the team. They liked it. I was to come up with a proposal on how to execute that idea and I would be the main person responsible for executing this new idea. I had a deadline of two weeks to get this off the ground.

A week passed, I’ve got some notes jotted down for the proposal, fleshed out the idea and concept but no finished proposal yet, as I’m bogged down by mounds of school work — It’s the tail end of the semester, you know, assignments, coursework and all that fun stuff (not).

Another week passes. Still nothing. I do some little work on my personal website as well as DMST website, then start exam preparation.

Another couple weeks passed. Exams are over, I go to the mountains for holiday and… Still nothing.

I think you’re starting to notice a pattern by now.

Fast forward to now, it’s almost six weeks later and the only thing I’ve done is say a version of this lousy sentence to the team over and over again, “Sorry I haven’t got back to you about A, X happend. I’ll email you about Y on Z date”.

Now the idea that I proposed, the idea that I was to be responsible for. They got it off the ground without me.

It sucked and I felt awful. I let people down and it’s all my fault.

But the thing is I don’t feel bad because I never followed through on my promise. If I could I would have.

I often tend to be over optimistic in what I can get done and tend to underestimate just how much time things will take. Now I’m slowly realising I have to be conservative or at least cautious about what I can accomplish given the time I have. But more importantly be honest with people when I feel that I cannot meet the deadlines set for myself.

When I proposed the idea I knew giving the schedule I had coming up it would be hard to follow through on that idea. At some point in time I should have said, “I probably wouldn’t be able to do this”, and communicate openly why I think I can’t.

It’s easy to say yes when you’re presented with an opportunity but, it’s harder to say no. But sometimes saying no is the best thing to do.

I’m a writer, value-driven digital marketer, student and founder and managing editor of Dear marketing student. An email newsletter that delivers valuable insight to marketing students. You can catch me on twitter at @Ayo_af or see more of my work on AAFOLABI.COM. Subscribe to my private email newsletter here.

--

--

Ayodeji Afolabi
Ayo’s Journey

Digital marketer | #startup enthusiast | @uwinnipeg 16' @Bcit 18' | Working to providde value | Fam @tosinAF