Feeling Somewhatđź’™Blue, Turning 62

Graham D. Cooke
AYOT Poetry Corner
Published in
3 min readSep 7, 2022

--

California Highway Sign with number 62 displayed. Desert and scrub displayed in the background to the right, with the highway long perspective shown to the left.
Photo by Mike Von on Unsplash

Feeling somewhat depressed;

So, I’m going to get undressed….

Just going to crawl into bed,

Pull up the sheets and hide my head.

Writing this brief poem first,

Since my throat is parched and I have a thirst.

Grab a drink, then decided to write this on a lark,

After conversation with another, I’ll add these lines to remark:

Ginger Cook will henceforth continue,

She knows what to add to this menu.

She knows what I might ask,

Even if it’s just amber liquid in a flask.

She could be chatting up B A (Bev) Little

To see what she could bake up in her skittle.

Maybe she will ask Kathy K,

If she’ll bring some cannolis up my way.

Though Ginger and Graham are not directly related,

With her birthday exactly a week away, maybe she will be sated.

Oh, let’s not forget all the other writers with early September birthdays,

I believe, Lisa S. Gerard’s, falls between Graham’s and Ginger’s midways.

--

--

Graham D. Cooke
AYOT Poetry Corner

Accidental published author 🧔 Technical writer & editor (25+ years) ... Medium editor (14 pubs) 🕵 ”medium.com/@graham.cooke.cts/about"