git stash -p

Aysha Williams
Aysha’s Handmade Code
2 min readFeb 28, 2021

If you only want to stash some of your changes, but not all of them, then git stash -p is the tool for you.

Let’s take a look at my Unreliable Weather App as an example. This is the original code:

As an example, let’s say that I wanted to add another weather condition to it’s array, but I found myself adding some code to return the pollen count, and while doing that I saw an opportunity to refactor how the app retrieves a random number. But, wait! I totally derailed myself from my original goal, and I haven’t quite finished making my original changes. So, git stash -p comes to the rescue!

I’m asked if I want to “stash this hunk” for each change I’ve made, and I decide to only keep the changes that update the conditions array and the refactor for retrieving a random number.

And Voila! I’m done.

So far, the -p flag has become my favorite flag to use in git commands.

--

--