Aremu Oluwadamilola
Azure Nigeria Community Group
2 min readAug 14, 2024

--

Azure Global Bootcamp 2024 (Azure Nigeria Community)

When I stepped into the role of Azure Community Lead in February 2024, I had no idea how profoundly it would shape my understanding of community building and event facilitation. Over the next three months, I faced challenges, celebrated victories, and learned invaluable lessons that I’m excited to share with you today.

As the Azure Community Leader, my responsibilities included managing the Azure Nigerian community’s communication and social platforms, ensuring members were engaged in lessons to enhance their cloud knowledge. Essentially, I attended to everything that ensured the community’s continuous improvement.

Major Achievements

  • Championed an Azure DevOps series based on community feedback.
  • Organized a Fireside Chat on Security in Azure and Next-Gen Firewalls.
  • Hosted the Global Azure Bootcamp for the Nigerian community.
  • Facilitated the design of a new logo for the community.

Challenges Faced

Leading the community was a significant learning curve. Some challenges included ensuring events started on time and increasing event turnout. Despite these challenges, I am deeply appreciative of the support from every Azure community leader, whose timely advice helped me implement plans and handle situations effectively.

Lessons Learned

There were some plans I couldn’t execute during my tenure because I didn’t start on them immediately. This experience taught me the importance of giving my plans a timeline to help me stay on track.

Summary of My Activities

Here are some sessions from the Azure DevOps series facilitated by our community and leadership team:

- Introduction to DevOps and DevOps tools

- DevOps for Data Workloads and Analytics

- Managing your source code with Git

- Learn continuous integration with GitHub Actions

We also had a Fireside Chat on security, which you can rewatch. It was a deep and enlightening conversation: Achieving Enhanced Workload Protection in Azure.

All our sessions are available on our YouTube channel, filled with educational Azure content on various topics. Please feel free to check it out.

Join the Azure Nigeria Community!

To catch up on all of our events, you can join our Meetup page for more information. Follow us and the community on X (@AzureNigeria) and Linkedin as well.

Special thanks to all my fellow leaders for their support. I acknowledged the key roles played by Imoh Etuk, Raphael Gab-Momoh, David Okeyode, Oluwatosin Anishere, Joseph Roland, Promise Nwachukwu, Oluwaseyi Oluwawumiju, Emmanuel Itoje, and many others.

--

--