Experiment with your Life

Ethan Castro
Azzemble
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2022

--

We are all human, all born from the same place, and all breathe the same air, but we are not all the same.

What works for me may not work for you. What works for us may not work for them….

The only way to determine if things work is by using them and seeing their performance.

Many things have an almost 100% chance of success, but we won’t register that unless we try them.

You don’t realize the ROI of being kind to everyone until you love everyone and observe how they love you back.

You don’t realize how effective exercise is in boosting your mood until you try it for three weeks straight.

It’s impossible to internalize how rewarding hard work is until you work hard, persevere through the points of wanting to quit, and either reach the desired outcome or become a better person in the process.

Some things that people preach so enthusiastically are only effective for that one person.

For example, the keto diet.

People who follow the keto diet think everyone and their mother should do it, and everyone who follows it will be healed of all their ailments.

I decided to try keto (or close to keto) this past summer; I was miserable.

I had no energy. I had cravings for things as simple as a ketchup packet. All I could think about was how little energy I had and how much energy I wanted to consume (food).

Now I know that the keto diet doesn’t work for me. I either don’t have the mental strength or biological/genetic makeup conducive to that.

I could never truly focus for hours on end for all of high school.

I tried every method I thought. Nootropics. Studying with others. Studying at 4 am or 10 pm. I tried scientific methods. I tried a fair amount of ways to focus, all of which were unsuccessful.

It was when I tried deep work that I was able to sit and focus truly. It literally took years of trial and error (experimentation) with different methods for me to find one that worked.

To coherently conclude:

Try different ways of working out: Weights, Running, Fighting, Yoga, Sports, or All.

Try different ways of carrying yourself: Extreme Kindness, Confidence, or Professionalism.

Try different schedules: Waking up at 5 am, Going to sleep at 10 pm, Going to the gym after waking up/before sleeping.

You won’t know what works for you until you try it [and probably try it for a few weeks].

We have different body clocks, genetics, gifts, and inclinations, and there is no way to discover them until we try different ways of behaving that align with them.

Don’t feel bad if something doesn’t work for you.

Don’t make others feel bad if something doesn’t work for them.

I write this to save you all time from doing something that doesn’t work for you.

Over the past few months, I learned:

  • I am allergic to bread and wheat
  • Going to the gym in the morning messes up my day
  • Writing helps me internalize lessons I’ve learned
  • Being overly kind is something that energizes me and makes me feel good about myself
  • Spanish music increases my productivity

I learned all of these through experimentation, and I plan to live in line with these realizations.

--

--

Ethan Castro
Azzemble

Artificial-Natural-Kinetic-Pseudo Intelligence. 18 year old NYC dude