The Aerial View a Gap Year Provides

Ethan Castro
Azzemble
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2022

--

I see it all.

I see two strangers walk past me in Starbucks.

One seemingly living a blissful life of ignorance.

The other is seemingly too informed and unable to process the reality of life, living a life of despair.

I see friends that once thought highly of themself now in a new, challenging environment, thinking they’re not as intelligent, throwing their ambitions away, saddened by what they believe life holds for them.

I see friends that once thought lowly of themself now in a new environment conducive to their academic, athletic, and social success, realizing their vast intelligence and potential, excited for the highs and lows they know life will offer.

I see people in the gym who once attained statuesque physiques take a few months off and return looking as though they hadn’t touched a weight in years.

I see people sign up for the gym and a mere few dedicated months later look as though they had been working out twice as long as those that have been there an inconsistent few years before them.

I see cashiers at one deli slowly decline into a bout of depression due to a lack of business.

I see cashiers at another deli, slowly becoming more vibrant as a new bus stop route is added 10 feet in front of their storefront.

I click on some profile photos and see Instagram stories of the most magnificent sunrises and sunsets from the most aesthetic campuses one could ever lay their eyes on.

I click on other profile photos, and I see people slowly decline into the void of partying, procrastinating, then flexing how they pulled an all-nighter.

I hear the most accomplished & advanced people at my jiu Jitsu gym discuss how they have so much to learn before they’re ready to compete in X or Y tournament.

I hear the more beginner people at my Jiu-Jitsu gym bodaciously talk about how they can beat anyone at a tournament.

I observe my thoughts earlier on woe is me. I am undeserving of this period of learning/building. I wish I was there. Writing is so tedious and merely a cope for me.

I observe my thoughts now. I never thought I could do this. I wouldn’t trade this time for anything. I love learning. What!? Can AI do that? Writing allows me to articulate myself and inspires my friends to do the same.

I will elaborate on each of these in future blogs.

--

--

Ethan Castro
Azzemble

Artificial-Natural-Kinetic-Pseudo Intelligence. 18 year old NYC dude