The best way to think about [some]things is not to.

Ethan Castro
Azzemble
Published in
3 min readOct 18, 2022

--

Our mind amplifies the reality of many events/things/occurrences.

If you’re hyper-aware of what you eat, then studies have shown when you slip up, it has a tremendously worse effect on your mind/body than if you had not been so strict on yourself.

If you’re hyper-aware of being productive, when you scroll on tik tok for 10 minutes, you wind up borderline hating yourself.

I am so unproductive, lazy, and a waste.

If you’re hyper-aware of your physical training regimen. You refuse to do an ordinary task like moving furniture because it interferes with your training split.

What is the point of being hyper-aware and maximizing yourself if you are going to do the absolute minimum when it comes to the thing you’re preparing for?

That is unless you curl weights so you can look like a cool person versus a helpful person.

That is unless you are eating to look a certain way versus being healthy.

That is unless you are being productive for productive sake versus fulfilling your potential.

That is unless you are doing self-improvement as a sport and for the dopamine hit of thinking you improved versus actually improving.

That is unless you’re studying Philosophy to mask your intelligence insecurity versus making the most of your life and those around you.

That is unless you are studying to fill up your brain versus actually doing anything with your intelligence and knowledge.

Just do.

When I trained for my bodybuilding show, I was hyper-aware of everything. Every time I slipped up, I would be infuriated with myself.

To make matters worse, I had no more motivation once the show was over. I realized I had reached my goal. Not even a goal. My high. And that’s the reason I trained.

I thought about training as a means to winning a show versus training as training. So once the show was over, what did I expect?

When I was a freshman and sophomore, I used to barely sleep, train multiple times a day and never feel fatigued.

Now I am too hyper-aware, and I have convinced myself it is because I know how to maximize my health, and if I train in the morning, I overthink how tired I will inevitably be when I train again.

Guess what happens at night. I am exponentially more tired than if I had just trained. Not trained depleted or train tired, if I had just gone into the session being mindful of that session, I wouldn’t have physically depleted myself, mentally.

When I am studying or coding or writing, I try not to think about what I did or how much of it I have done.
Perhaps one more hour of coding and I would’ve solved my issue, but I stopped because “it’s already been 4 hours; let me go to the gym”.

When you are studying. Study.
When you are talking with someone. Listen and Conversate.

When you are writing. Write.

When you are at the gym. Workout.

Embrace being in the zone. Allow yourself to be in the zone.

When you are eating dinner. Eat dinner.

Be mindful. You won’t get to enjoy life as much as you could if you are constantly skipping to the next moment. You are simply skipping all that you could enjoy in this moment or all the problems that you can solve right now.

This is not to say don’t think, but if you are going to overthink, simply just do the task at hand

--

--

Ethan Castro
Azzemble

Artificial-Natural-Kinetic-Pseudo Intelligence. 18 year old NYC dude