Poetry and Illustration

A New Specimen

A poem of collectors and keepsakes

Doodleslice
B.A.M. Bomb Journal
2 min readAug 22, 2024

--

A cartoon collage made on a photograph by the artist of mason jars on a shelf. The jars hold an astronaut, a bunny astronaut, and some alien creatures. The colors include yellows, purples and blues. Art by Doodleslice 2024

All the little people
That I keep in little jars
All the lonely lizards
That I gathered up on Mars

Everywhere I travel
In my spinning saucer ship
I bring my whole collection
Not a specimen I skip

I seek out slimy creatures
And sophisticated apes
I feed them lemon pudding
Plankton, flies and seedless grapes

Sometimes we coast in orbit
Sometimes we warp time and space
Sometimes we’re in no hurry
Sometimes flying in a race

Seek I, a new specimen
A critter never yet seen
It might be blue or purple
Orange, pink, brown, plaid or green

I’ll look in Neptune’s oceans
Where the ammonia ices
Of critters in this system
Ol’ Neptune’s are the nicest

--

--

Doodleslice
B.A.M. Bomb Journal

Artist and Poet. Imperfectionist. I hope my poems and art bring you some joy. I believe you should be you - be an interesting Earthling. Be a beacon.