picture taken by author

CEMETERY HISTORY | BLOG | HISTORICAL RESEARCH

Hoke Cemetery “Evil Hill”

The dead spot… in more ways than one.

Adrienne Belbrooks
H.A.R.P.I.E.
Published in
7 min readAug 25, 2024

--

The following is public information and sites are referenced. Pictures /audios/and others as such and areas I was at were granted access to me by the appropriate parties. No spirts were disturbed during my research and all of my respects to those who have passed.

There’s a spot on the highway that I refer to as the “Evil Hill”. Every time I pass through that specific spot, my phone loses signal, the temperature gauge in my car goes down, and if the weather is poor, it becomes even worse in that particular location. They went as far as installing a tower to improve the signal. This piqued my curiosity about what lies in that area, ultimately leading me to stumble upon Hoke Cemetery, which is conveniently located just off the road known as “Evil Hill”.

It’s unclear whether there is a link between the anomalies mentioned above and the cemetery. However, the history of these resting places and the people who buried there seem… odd. One unusual aspect of this cemetery is its location. The only thing visible on Google Maps is a residential property when I looked it up.

--

--

Adrienne Belbrooks
H.A.R.P.I.E.

I use ink and my creativity to craft captivating stories that will immerse one into the realms of the mystical and peculiar.