Tiny Explosions: The DM

MJ Huntsgood
B.A.M. Bomb Journal
2 min readAug 16, 2024

--

Do you need help marketing your book?

The DM sits unopened in my inbox.

I think about it sometimes. Innocuous. Just a bot. Just that. I don’t even bother leaving it on read, it’s still bolded and blinking, the little white circle at the top of my app reminding me that, oh yes, it is there.

I’ll get to it eventually, I tell myself.

The next one appears. Don’t you want your book to do well?

A little more pointed. I’m a little surprised, but I let it go. I don’t open that Pandora’s box. Everyone wants their book to do well. Another spam. Nothing to do with me.

I get these all the time.

I will love your book for you.

For me?

You can’t love it for me.

I love it like the crashing of the waves and the beating of my heart.

I’ve poured my soul into this book. My life’s blood. My pain and my rejection and my tears. You can’t love it for me.

It’s that that makes me respond. I click on the user and my icon drops beside the note.

No. I type. I got this.

Power slides through my veins. I do have this. I’ll be in control of my own book, my own abilities. I’ll be in my own power, someday.

Another notification.

Are you looking for hot singles in your area?

God damnit.

image by pectonyte on flickr

--

--

MJ Huntsgood
B.A.M. Bomb Journal

MJ Huntsgood is a speculative horror and thriller author from Washington DC whose work explores deep POV. She is represented by Morgan Wilson from BelcastroLit.