Consul General Dr. Kreibich’s — Gratitude and Insights

Amber Ford
Babson Germany
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

Dear Consul General Dr. Kreibich,

I want to start by expressing my deepest gratitude for you taking the time out to come talk to our class. It was refreshing hearing firsthand about Germany’s government both historically and what is to come. Two points that piqued my interest were Germany’s Fiscal policies and the enduring support that is being extended to Israel in these challenging times.

The concept of the “Black zero” or “Schwarze Null” was a big takeaway of mine. Germany’s commitment to a balanced budget, as mandated by the debt brake since 2009, showcases Germany’s dedication to financial responsibility. The Schuldenbremse or “debt brake” not only forbids the government from taking on additional debts but also limits the structural deficit, underscoring Germany’s Fiscal Approach.

I also wanted to shed light on my happiness when hearing of Germany’s unwavering support for Israel during these times of fear and uncertainty. Your reassurance of solidarity and commitment to maintaining a strong bond between the two nations is both reassuring and commendable.

I am excited for our trip to Germany where I will be able to experience the culture firsthand. I am eager to immerse myself in the German way of life, learn from the experiences of the culture, and observe any practices that I may consider incorporating into my own life back here in America.

--

--