Danke, Dr.Kreibich

Sofia Caffer
Babson Germany
Published in
1 min readFeb 15, 2024

Dr. Sonja Kreibich,

Danke! Thank you so much for taking the time to come talk to us and answer all of our questions with enthusiasm! I found everything you shared very insightful and very valuable in my journey to learn more about Germany.

One particular explanation that was extremely fascinating to me was why Germany is against nuclear energy. Personally, I never knew the real reason why they were against it. In 2023, Germany definitively shifted away from nuclear energy by shutting down its last remaining plants. This decision had been building for years, with the Green Party’s anti-nuclear stance playing a significant role. Their slogan, “nuclear energy, no thanks,” encapsulates this position. The Fukushima disaster in Japan in 2011 further fueled public concerns about nuclear safety, solidifying the move towards phasing out nuclear power. Therefore, I found learning about the “behind the scenes” very interesting to see how sustainability choices are correlated to politics as I think it is extremely interesting how one area affects the other.

Additionally, one question that I still have is if they predict a change in Germany’s politics that can cause a shift on how they view sustainability practices.

Danke,

Sofia Caffer

--

--