Hamburg — 5 Things You Need to Know

Connor Raney
Babson Germany
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2024
Big A (Andrew) in Front of the City of Hamburg
  • Before coming to Hamburg, I was expecting a much quieter and smaller city, but then, I was surprised by how active the city was with industry, and how beautiful it was. Hamburg is a truly incredible city and I am so happy it was a part of our trip.
  • From our firm visit to H&F and Mabanaft, I learned that PtL (Product to Liquid) will become a very big part in getting aircraft to be sustainable in the near future and also got to actually learn about how this technology worked. It was also very interesting to hear how the fossil fuel industry is beginning to go green and to see what solutions they have for the future.
  • My favorite moment during this portion of the trip was our boat tour around the city because we got to see so many cool things. Not only did we get to see some of the biggest cargo boats in the world and drift under them (wow!) but we also got to skirt through the tunnels of the city with our incredible driver, and of course got to enjoy some drinks on the boat as well. It was really cool to see the city of Hamburg from a different perspective and it helped to realize how big the industry and port portion of Hamburg really is.
  • I want to give a shout out to Calder because he did a great job trying to learn how to drive the boat and did a great job with it.
  • Next time I come back to Hamburg, I would love to stay somewhere more central because that way I can spend more time in the city and truly immerse myself into Hamburg.

--

--