Introducing Anna

Anna Zueva
Babson Germany
Published in
2 min readJan 25, 2024

Hello all!

I’m Anna. I have a nickname, Ania, so my friends call me that. However, you won’t offend me if you call me Anna. I am an international student from Moscow, Russia. I am a junior at Babson, just one more semester to go before graduating in December 2024. I concentrate in Finance and have been actively involved with the different finance organizations on campus. I am an analyst at the Babson College Fund and also a part of the professional development team in Scholars of Finance. A significant part of my life (18 years) revolves around dance, and I’ve been a part of the Babson Dance Ensemble, recently completing my term as a Vice-President. If you attended the two of our last shows and watched the faculty dance at the very end, — I was responsible for recruiting them and choreographing the dance for our professors and staff.

I decided to take this course because it directly aligns with my interests and career goals. As I mentioned, I am very passionate about finance but more specifically, I am interested in finance application in tangible industries like industrials or energy within the modern world. Once I reviewed the course syllabus, I immediately wanted to take the course that explores the interconnectedness of economics and sustainability. In addition to that, I am genuinely excited to visit Germany, and witness things I learned about in Russia with my own eyes.

Something I am excited about the most is identifying the connections between economics and sustainability. I am curious how the pursuit of profit intersects with the environmental preservation and vice versa. I am also very interested in studying how Germany became one of the leading countries to start relying on green or renewable energy. I also wonder how up to this day Germany is one of the most influential and economically developed country in the world. The question I had is, what did German government do differently to achieve success in all three aspects: social, environmental and economical, — compared to other developed countries in the world?

One location I am looking forward to visiting is Bundestag, as this is such a unique opportunity for someone who comes from Russia. It may be not as exciting for other people, but to me, it has such a valuable meaning. In Russia, a major part of our curriculum focused on the Second World War, and witnessing the Bundestag in person is a profound experience for me. German and European development prior to and after WWII were just chapters in the school history books. I hope, after I visit Berlin and specifically Bundestag, chapters will either be supported or challenged by tangible evidence. I am very excited about the travel component as a whole, and I hope it proves to be both informative and fun!

- Ania

--

--