Introducing Calder

Calder H
Babson Germany
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2024

Hi! My name is Calder (pronounced like ‘called her’), and I am a sophomore here at Babson! A few notable aspects of myself include being a French citizen, being a quarter Japanese, and previously living in London! I decided to take this course for a couple primary reasons. The first of which was my interest in traveling the world and trying new things. I am very excited to step out of my comfort zone with new food, language, and the foreign culture as a whole. The second main reason I took the course because I took my microeconomics requirement with Professor Wong last semester, where I really enjoyed his teaching style and was sold on the course after hearing so much about it.

Since my childhood, a big part of my life has been working on cars. Even now, I am an active member of the Babson Car Club, and work as a technician at a tire shop in Newton! Because of this, I am most excited to visit the car company headquarters/plant (I believe we are going to Audi but I cannot remember if this is set in stone yet). It is interesting to see not only how the cars are initially constructed, but also how it affects and is affected by the economy! This trip to German will bridge so many of my interests outside of school with academics and will illustrate how what we learn in the classroom can be applied to real life.

--

--