My experience in Hamburg

Omesh Ramchandani
Babson Germany
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2024

Before coming to Hamburg, I was expecting the city to be more modern and a bigger tourist destination for food, but then, I realized that Hamburg is more known for its history and for being a hub for exports and imports through ships. I realized this on the first day, when I went on the boat tour. During the tour, we looked at cargo ships and there were a lot of them. We also toured around Hamburg and looked at historical buildings such as the fish market.

During our visit to listen to guest speaker Monika Griefahn, I learned that effectiveness is as important as efficiency. For example, she mentioned how there could be a pill that provides us the same nutrients as a meal would, however, humans would not want that as the experience of eating a meal is enjoyable. Hence, when coming up for a plan to switch to being renewable, the plan must be effective in convincing the population to comply with it.

My favourite memory in Hamburg was the Airbus tour as it was a unique experience to see how they created planes. As a person who is normally nervous when getting on planes, it was interesting to see their safety procedures to ensure that there are no issues with the plane. For example, they would test the wings of the airplanes until they broke to see how much turbulence it could withstand. It was also interesting to learn about different types of planes. For example, they mentioned the Beluga Airbus plane which was used to transport goods. The Beluga plane was not made to have passengers as the pressure and oxygen in the plane (besides the cockpit obviously) was deadly.

I want to give a shout-out to my friend Calder as his sense of humor has made this trip even more exciting. Although he is not very good at MarioKart, he has provided this trip with unforgettable memories. An example of this is when he drove the boat in the tour. It was a cool experience to see how an inexperienced boat driver could handle steering the boat. Although it wasn’t too bad, I did feel slightly seasick afterwards.

Next time I come back to Hamburg, I would love to explore the city more and watch a Hamburger SV soccer game. I would love to explore the city more as it is rich in culture and history. Although Hamburger SV is in the second division of the Bundesliga, it would still be interesting to watch how good the quality of soccer is in that league.

#Hamburg

--

--