Stuttgart Through Pictures

Sofia Caffer
Babson Germany
Published in
4 min readMar 18, 2024

Stuttgart is definitely a place that I will remember forever, from its stunning architecture to its commitment to sustainability. A lot of moments during the trip impressed me and I was able to register some of them, so every time I am missing the trip I can go back to the pictures and I can also show people my perspective on Germany.

The first moment that I had to capture was on the way to Stuttgart in the Zürich Airport. There they had a virtual reality tour with a screen that said “Start Your Environmental Tour,” this invite intrigued me. So I approached the stand to learn more about what that was, it was a three tours to understand Zürich Airport’s practices on environmental practices. It was the first time that I saw an airport promoting environmental protection and showing the customers with an interactive activity how they follow their mission of reducing greenhouse gasses emissions and following the UN goals, and I was amazed by this, so I decided to register it.

The second picture that I decided to share is from the Porsche Museum. I grew up admiring how having a certain brand of cars contributed to the social status of an individual, so being in the museum and understanding more about the correlation of history and the company. I found it very interesting when they explained the misconception of Porsche supporting the Nazi movement; however, the company did not support nor endorse it: they supplied some cars by defending that it was strictly a business transaction. Personally, I believe that a company should always follow its values when in business, so I wonder how values were seen back at that time.

Walking through the train tracks always sounded like a nightmare to me until I got to visit Stuttgart 21. The opportunity to visit the behind the scenes of construction of a railway was a once in a lifetime opportunity. I also have to say that their goal of revamping the station and the railway is that they predict to increase the number of public transportation users while decreasing the number with car users by showing them that their circuit route will take 30 minutes less now. Personally, I am curious to see the actual data on that when it starts running as it is a well thought project, but they cannot guarantee results.

I also have to say that the small detail is what makes the city even more charming. On the first day we toured a portion of the city at night and I fell in love with the city in a blink of an eye. Everything seemed to be planned so thoughtfully. For example, in the street sign, the different lines of the sign would spin to the same side and change the words to “GOOD NIGHT! SEE YOU TOMORROW!”

On our last day in Stuttgart, we made a quick trip to Tubingen, which is such a beautiful place!!! One aspect of the city that really caught my eyes was the houses alongside the river and the park, which made me wonder how their life must be peaceful compared to place I grew up at — Sao Paulo, which is the largest city in South America, so people were always running places and “peaceful” would not be the best word to describe it hahah!

Still in Tubingen, we had the opportunity to visit the French Quarters, which was an extremely interesting experience. I found the sense of community in the said place! I personally thought it was very interesting how even people’s backyards were public to the entire community. If I had to name one aspect that genuinely exemplifies the sense of community, I would show you this picture of place in which the people put things they are not using or do not need and anyone in the community can grab different items.

I believe these six images exemplify perfectly why I left part of my heart in Stuttgart and why I cannot wait to go back there.

--

--