Thank You Dr. Kreibich

Amy Guo
Babson Germany
Published in
2 min readFeb 29, 2024
Class photo with Consul General Dr. Kreibich

Dear Dr. Kreibich,

Thank you again for coming to Babson and sharing your insights with the class. I really appreciated your detailed replies to the questions asked, as well as your willingness to engage with the class activities. I can tell that you are very passionate about your field, and it has left a lasting impact on me.

During Thursday’s session, one of my biggest takeaways was that the mere advocacy for climate change and environmental protection is not adequate enough to affect real change. Rather, investments in new technology that addresses environmental challenges are what bring about long-term advancements. Recently, Germany mandated that its citizens replace the traditional fossil-fuel heating system with heat pumps or solar panels. Upon further research, I learned that over 80% of the heating systems in Germany are fossil-fueled generated (Energypost.edu). However, this policy was controversial as heating pumps are almost twice as expensive as traditional heating systems. Hence, the added cost from homeowners can roll over and increase rent costs for tenants.

Thus, I wondered, “Would individuals still prioritize sustainability if it comes at a cost?” In the context of today’s environment, the responsibility of sustainability often falls upon the consumer. For example, consumers are typically the side burdened to recycle and adopt eco-friendly behaviors, while corporations do not substantially change their manufacturing practices. On both sides, sustainability is an expensive decision for both consumers and producers, and it is undoubtedly difficult to implement.

As part of a project in another class, Environmental Justice, I was tasked to log my waste throughout the week. When I reviewed my log, I noticed that I had a significant amount of single-waste plastic, especially from food packaging. This puts into perspective the pervasive presence of plastic in our daily lives as consumers. Though sustainable alternatives are available, they are often more expensive and less convenient. On a personal note, while I recognize that the long-term effects are invaluable, it is hard for me to make those sacrifices when looking at the financial cost and cost of convenience.

Overall, I’d like to explore this aspect of sustainability further in Germany, especially on the consumer side. Not only would I gain further insights into my question, but it would also allow me to interact with the local community.

Sincerely,

Amy

P.S. Thank you for the gift bag as well! The Haribo gummies were sehr lecker.

--

--