Thank You Stuttgart

Zarin Rahman
Babson Germany
Published in
6 min readMar 28, 2024

Dear diary,

This has been a very eventful trip so far to say the least. It is now day 4 and we are leaving Stuttgart for Hamburg.

Where do I begin?

Day 1 — Landing

The flight to Stuttgart from the U.S. was a wild one. I took 3 melatonin gummies and still barely slept. I will definitely be purchasing a neck pillow for the trip back. I was glad when we reached the hotel and so amazed by the mall and views outside of it. America could never. The hotel was so nice inside and I knew there would be many fun moments at that bar the second I saw it. The nap I took was really needed or else I would’ve been everyone’s worst nightmare.

When I woke up from my nap, I was ready to process that I just unlocked a new continent, and it was my first time on this side of the world. I was grateful and ready to take on everything this trip had to offer. The walk to the Welcome Dinner really surprised me. The streets of Stuttgart and the main streets were so modernized and so clean. This was a step up from the New York City rats I’m used to. The dinner was delicious (the beer not so much — I don’t think I’m a fan of beer) and the ambience was such a perfect set after a long journey.

Speaking more on the surprising element of the modernization and cleanliness of the city, when we stood at the center of the city, I was memorized by the mixture of old and new architecture, of concrete and dirt, and the overall balance of everything a human need. Sometimes in the East Coast, I feel like the cities are so urbanized, we as humans forget about the feeling of being connected to nature and being in a walkable city. It was very surprising and cool to hear the city planner explain the way the city was built to produce a good mixture of everything for the inhabitants of the city.

Day 2 — Bougee Museum and Handy Mandy

I woke up at 6 am ready to take on the day but little did I know the day was going to take me. The Mercedes Benz Museum was something else. Technology like I have not seen before like that elevator, that looked so dystopian. I really like the way the museum was curated and set up, I felt like not only was I getting a look at the Benz cars but the history of cars and even important marks in history. It was a lot of walking, so I was glad the exhibition had little sitting areas where we rested. I also was happy to get my cousin a souvenir because that man loves his AMG and I know he will be very happy receiving a little something from there. By now, I was a bit tired, and the jet lag was catching up to me. I was not prepared for the next activity, Stuttgart 21. Before that, we had lunch at a pasta place (not very German) and sipped on a bellini which was my highlight of the day, it felt very Europe especially with the sunny weather outside.

It felt a bit like propaganda to me, the museum was so keen on highlighting why the project is needed and a whole museum on the project that is still being built. It just felt like a lot of dedication that was trying to mask the crazy overbudgeting going on there. It was definitely an experience. Walking looking like Handy Mandy in the red hat, vest, and boots especially in public. I couldn’t help but laugh at us, it was a super interesting moment. I did really like the tour inside the tunnel and just the overall understanding of what it takes to create such a huge process like this. I am not super into construction and city planning but it is intriguing to hear, and I respect the work that goes into it. This was an element I learned most about, seeing how you have to dive into every aspect of details when constructing and making sure that you are not obstructing any animal’s homes, making sure the materials don’t clash with the environment you are constructing on, and being prepared for floods and such was interesting to hear about. I think it brought in the main picture of if you really want to sustain something, you have to do the most to not put things out of balance and create more negative effects.

I was so glad to be back near the hotel. I loved the location of it and the mall. Another highlight was that I got Boba!! I was so exhausted yet so keen on exploring the whole mall. I love shopping. But it had to come to an end as I was so tired. But… the night was not over. A core memory was created that night as a large group of us went out clubbing. A bonding experience for sure and one to remember. It was funny because the train wasn’t coming so we all just left and walking the 10 minutes back to the hotel. The post-club walks hit.

Day 3 — Walking and Walking and definitely not New Orleans French Quarters

For going to bed at 3am, I felt well rested for the day. It started off with the Porsche Museum which I thought was pretty mid compared to the Benz one but nonetheless very expensive and pretty cars. I liked the Currywurst I had for lunch afterwards and I was shocked I got a whole filling lunch for only 3 euros.

The train ride to Tübingen had beautiful views and although I was exhausted, I was optimistic for the city tour ahead.

The tour of the French quarter before the city tour was a bit… different. I was not expecting it at all but it was refreshing to see people live a lifestyle I have never seen before. It was quite long and strenuous walk and by the time it was time for the main city tour, I was so tired. This was quickly changed when we passed the famous Tübingen bridge, the Neckarbrücke, and I saw one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen in my life. Being able to be present in the picture of our Canvas module was so surreal and I am so grateful for it.

Something I really enjoyed was walking through the cobble streets of Tübingen. The views, the buildings, the little alleyways have always been how I imagined Europe to be and it had been a long dream of mine to be able to experience it. I know I have said it a lot throughout this but I truly am so grateful for being able to live this.

In just 3 days, I feel like I have lived a whole week. Lots of first moments and great feelings. I am excited to see what’s next.

#stuttgart

See you soon Hamburg.

--

--