About ‘Baby Adult’

The publication about figuring this all out together

Caylie
Baby Adult
2 min readJan 2, 2020

--

I graduated from college and realized that I had no idea what was going on. Then, I did the same after graduate school. I felt underprepared, stressed out, and like the world was made for “real adults” who had everything all figured out. I found myself in positions of authority over other adults, feeling totally unprepared as they looked to be for guidance, and I thought that I was the one who had failed somehow by missing out on some crucial life skills that everyone else had learned while I had missed the memo.

Then, I realized that was wrong.

Through a lot of connections, communication, networking, and just “finding my people”, so to speak, I’ve learned that the concept of functional adulthood is almost a myth, and that everyone feels like an underprepared kid sometimes (and if they don’t, they probably should). And thus, “Baby Adult” became a term I (maybe?) coined and began to use frequently among my undergraduate students, my peers, and anyone who would listen and maybe understand.

Baby Adult is for all of the things that you think you or others might have missed out on as far as developmental life skills go. This is a publication about figuring it out as we go along, and doing it together.

--

--

Caylie
Baby Adult

Poet, vegetarian, outspoken about lgbt issues and sustainability. Find me making things on instagram @decomposit.ion and @recomposit.ion