Gourmet Baby Food- Beets, Roasted Apples, and Cinnamon

Petra
Baby Bites
Published in
3 min readDec 3, 2015
Yummy Beets and Apples

It’s beet season!

I know people may think I am crazy, but I LOVE beets. Pickled, broiled, roasted- I will eat them all without any judgement. I didn’t even grow up around beets, it’s something I discovered one day on a salad bar and I adored. Probably unnaturally adored. But the more I learned about beets (yes, I did some self-navigated research because I am awesome like that) the more I realized how good they are for you and, really, how cool they are too. Yes-I just said beets are cool. Why? First of all they are one of the few foods that come in such a vibrant pink/fuchsia color. Their color is so bright that beets were actually used as a natural pink dye before man created all sort of food science color creations. The great coloring of the beet brings with it a lot nutrient value as well. Beets are naturally high in phosphorus, potassium, Folic acid, and are a healthy source of sustained energy. So bring on the funky beets!

Of course I wanted to share my joy of beets with my son. Beets naturally have an earthy flavor, but when cooked properly this flavor can either be intensified or diminished to a more sweet hue. For Bodie I did the latter, skinning and roasting the beets along with some in season apple to create a sweet pair that Bodie was completely in love with. A win for this mother for sure. Also, we’re still experimenting with herbs and flavors. For this mix we threw in some cinnamon. Incorporating flavors this young helps teach infants different tastes- and teaches that you can add taste without salt or sugar!

The Bodie face as he enjoys his meal.

Beets, Roasted Apples, and Cinnamon Recipe Yields: ~ 2 cups or 8–16 servings (depending on how much your little one is able to eat)

  • 2 medium sized beets; peeled, diced, and steamed/roasted
  • 1 medium apple; cored, peeled, diced and steamed/roasted
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2- 1 cup breastmilk, formula, homemade baby stock (baby stoke recipe to be posted soon!), nitrate- free waterPlace all ingredients in blender and blend! Place in air tight containers. This meal will be good for 3–5 days in the fridge or up to 6 months in the freezer.

Quick note- beets, as mentioned above, were used for dye and therefore can STAIN. So, if your little one is not wearing a bib or is wearing a beautiful outfit that will make GMa upset if it’s ruined…. probably not the best time to try this combo out.

Let me know how you like the recipe and repost!

Thanks for stopping by, hope your child loves this as much as mine did.

– Petra

Originally published at mommiesnmunchkins.net.

--

--

Petra
Baby Bites

A clinically inclined hippie who studies nutrition, lactation, and the holistic embodiment of it all. A registered dietitian, lactation consultant, and new mom